Lossless music download

The Chocolate Watch Band - One Step Beyond (1969) (1994)

Rock | Author: sirk | 11-05-2018, 12:21
The Chocolate Watch Band - One Step Beyond (1969) (1994)Artist: The Chocolate Watch Band
Title Of Album: One Step Beyond
Year Of Release: 1969/1994
Label (Catalog#) :Sundazed Music [SC 6025]
Country: USA
Genre: Garage Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Quality: FLAC (tracks+cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 00:34:05
Full Size: 211mb(+5%)

The third and final of the original studio albums by the Chocolate Watchband, One Step Beyond is a bit misleading and contradictory. On the one hand, it's as close as any performing group called the Chocolate Watchband ever got to making a finished album of their own, which is reflected in the fact that all but one song here was an original by the bandmembers; but on the other hand, this is a different Watchband lineup, assembled by Sean Tolby and Bill Flores, including guitarist Mark Loomis and drummer Gary Andrijasevich (both of whom had left in 1967 to join the Tingle Guild), and original, Foothill College-era Chocolate Watchband member Danny Phay (who'd also been in the Tingle Guild). Missing is David Aguilar, the band's one-time lead singer and most visible songwriter up to that time -- and the result is an album that has almost none of the influence of the Rolling Stones, and, instead, shows the greatest folk-rock influence in their history. The overall sound is brittle but melodic, reminiscent in some ways of the Quicksilver Messenger Service, the Charlatans, Moby Grape, and the Jefferson Airplane. Danny Phay isn't nearly as charismatic a singer as Aguilar, but he's not bad, either, and there are lots of interesting shared vocals. There's also quite a bit more guitar noodling here than on any previous Watchband recording -- that's not necessarily a bad thing, though it does dilute some of the impact of the punkier moments. "Devil's Motorcycle" is also of special interest to fans of Moby Grape, as it features the Grape's Jerry Miller subbing for Loomis on lead guitar. They shined on Ashford & Simpson's "I Don't Need No Doctor" as well as the Loomis/Andrijasevich original "Uncle Morris," and "Flowers" was a beautiful piece of folk-based psychedelia, while Sean Tolby's "Fireface" recaptured some of the original band's thicker rock textures. Original Foothill College-era member Ned Torney was also present on the sessions playing keyboards, but his work was left out of the final mix of the album, which meant the guitars got even greater exposure than intended. The overall album, which clocks in at well under 25 minutes, is an interesting and well-played coda to the band's history, but is also a long way from the sound of the group's earlier releases.

The Chocolate Watch Band - One Step Beyond (1969) (1994)
The Chocolate Watch Band - One Step Beyond (1969) (1994)

01. Uncle Morris (G. Andrijasevich, M. Loomis) - 3:09
02. How Ya Been (D. Phay, G. Andrijasevich) - 3:10
03. Devil's Motorcycle (G. Andrijasevich, S. Tolby) - 3:01
04. I Don't Need No Doctor (N. Ashford, V. Simpson) - 4:01
05. Flowers (D. Phay, G. Andrijasevich) - 2:46
06. Fireface (S. Tolby) - 2:49
07. And She's Lonely (M. Loomis, S. Tolby) - 4:16
Bonus Tracks:
08. Don't Need Your Lovin (D. Aguilar) - 2:36
09. Sitting There Standing (Flores, Aguilar, Andrijasevich, Loomis, Tolby) - 2:20
10. Blues Theme (M. Curb) - 2:21
11. Loose Lip Sync Ship (D. Aguilar, M. Loomis) - 3:01

Sean Tolby - Guitar
Bill "Flo" Flores - Bass
Mark Loomis - Guitar.
Gary Andrijasevich - Drums.
Danny Phay – Vocals
Jerry Miller - Guitar

All thanks to original releaser

You Must Register Before You Can View This Hide Text For Download.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 811 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Chocolate Watch Band - No Way Out (1967) (1993)
  • Moby Grape - Wow (1969) [Limited Edition] (2009)
  • Jeff Loomis - Plains Of Obliveon (2012)
  • Jeff Loomis - Zero Order Phase 2008
  • Jeff Loomis - Plains Of Oblivion (2012)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?