Lossless music download

John Pizzarelli - One Night With You: The John Pizzarelli Collection (1996)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 14-07-2017, 06:44
John Pizzarelli - One Night With You: The John Pizzarelli Collection (1996)
Artist: John Pizzarelli
Title Of Album: One Night With You: The John Pizzarelli Collection
Year Of Release: 1996
Label: Chesky Records
Country: US
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue, log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 56:53 min
Full Size: 308 MB


01. It Could Happen to You (3:26)
02. I'm Through with Love (4:04)
03. The Touch of Your Lips (2:33)
04. I'll Never Be the Same (3:28)
05. Lady Be Good (8:05)
06. Stray Horn (2:44)
07. Oh Me, Oh My, Oh Gosh (3:28)
08. Do Nothing 'Till You Hear from Me (6:44)
09. Candy (3:38)
10. Don't Get Around Much Anymore (3:13)
11. Early Autumn (5:01)
12. Take My Smile (2:55)
13. Passion Flower (4:15)
14. Gee Baby Ain't I Good to You (3:20)

If you like your contemporary jazz crooners smooth and sweet, then likely John Pizzarelli is your main man above today's many post-Sinatra posers. This recording is as solid an effort as he has offered musically, or in terms of his stance and intelligent selection of material. While his guitar playing is subsumed, it is nonetheless precious, and when occasionally paired alongside his father, Bucky Pizzarelli, priceless. The surrounding cast is outstanding, with bassists Milt Hinton, Ron Carter, or Michael Moore; drummers Butch Miles or Connie Kay; and especially the great pianist Dave McKenna -- along with cameos from trumpeter Clark Terry and violinist Johnny Frigo. You hear ten standards all done lovingly, the pop tune "Candy" (which is really the only throwaway), and the Slim Gaillard/Slam Stewart goof novelty blues "Oh Me, Oh My, Oh Gosh." Two originals are included: "Stray Horn," an instrumental bluesy ballad tribute to Billy Strayhorn; and the cutely sung "Take My Smile." This is a winning effort, unadulterated by over-commercialized smarmy pop-culture claptrap -- perhaps honest to a fault but sincere and authentic enough to go straight to your heart. -- Michael G. Nastos

Download John Pizzarelli - One Night With You: The John Pizzarelli Collection (1996)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1146 |
    Related Releases:     
  • John Pizzarelli - With A Song In My Heart (2008)
  • John Pizzarelli - My Blue Heaven 1990 (2003 HDTracks 24-96)
  • The Bucky Pizzarelli Trio feat. Ed Laub, John Pizzarelli - Three for All (2 ...
  • Bucky Pizzarelli, Howard Alden, Johnny Frigo, Michael Moore – Hot Club Of ...
  • Johnny Frigo with Bucky and John Pizzarelli - Live From Studio A in New Yor ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?