Lossless music download

Dave Brubeck - The Definitive Dave Brubeck On Fantasy, Concord Jazz And Telarc (2010)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 14-09-2018, 16:29
Dave Brubeck - The Definitive Dave Brubeck On Fantasy, Concord Jazz And Telarc (2010)
Artist: Dave Brubeck
Title Of Album: The Definitive Dave Brubeck On Fantasy, Concord Jazz And Telarc
Year Of Release: 2010
Label: Concord Music
Country: US
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue, log, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 02:06:14
Full Size: 611 MB


01. I Found a New Baby (1:38)
02. The Way You Look Tonight (3:04)
03. (Back Home Again In) Indiana (2:36)
04. Laura (2:46)
05. Singin' in the Rain (2:37)
06. That Old Black Magic (2:40)
07. Sweet Georgia Brown (2:44)
08. Perfidia (2:20)
09. Avalon (2:08)
10. How High the Moon (3:06)
11. Look for the Silver Lining (3:44)
12. This Can't Be Love (4:10)
13. My Romance (2:40)
14. Lulu's Back in Town (2:24)
15. Over the Rainbow (5:05)
16. How High the Moon (9:12)
17. All the Things You Are (9:12)

01. Koto Song (8:51)
02. Black and Blue (7:12)
03. St. Louis Blues (9:45)
04. Take Five (7:05)
05. (Variations On) Brother, Can You Spare a Dime? (7:29)
06. Here Comes McBride (3:27)
07. Waltzing (7:17)
08. Day After Day (6:45)
09. Forty Days (6:17)

There is no denying that Dave Brubeck's hit sides for Columbia permanently established him in the popular jazz consciousness, but that's also a limiting factor: he cut great music before and after his tenure there. The Definitive Dave Brubeck, a double-disc, 26-track collection issued just in time to celebrate the pianist's 90th birthday and to coincide with the documentary film Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Time (whose executive producer is Clint Eastwood), fills in key points in the rest of the story. (Sony/Legacy has simultaneously issued a Brubeck-curated double disc entitled Legacy of a Legend that covers the Columbia period between 1954 and 1970.) This compilation was assembled by Russell Gloyd, Brubeck's manager, producer, and conductor since 1976. Disc one contains 17 tracks recorded between 1942 (the year the historic Jazz at the College of the Pacific was cut for Fantasy Records) and 1953 (when Jazz at Oberlin was released). These were the years that Brubeck's early trio (with Ron Crotty and Cal Tjader) and his original duets with Paul Desmond, and finally the quartet, began to make their mark on the West Coast. There are also solo piano tunes ("My Romance") and even one from the Dave Brubeck Octet recording ("The Way You Look Tonight"). Numerous cuts were chosen from the Dave Brubeck Trio's Distinctive Rhythm Instrumentals and Brubeck & Desmond: Jazz at Storyville. The nine selections on disc two begin in 1982 with "Koto Song," from the live Concord on a Summer Night, and end in 2004 with "Forty Days" from the London Flat, London Sharp set, with cuts along the way from the albums Moscow Night (1987), Young Lions & Old Tigers (1995), Just You, Just Me (1994), So What's New? (2000), and The Crossing (2000). There isn't anything here that is previously unreleased, so hardcore fans will more than likely already possess the material. That said, for anyone only familiar with the Columbia recordings, or seeking an introduction to Brubeck, this collection is a worthwhile consideration. -- Thom Jurek

Download Dave Brubeck - The Definitive Dave Brubeck On Fantasy, Concord Jazz And Telarc (2010)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 2123 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Dave Brubeck - Concord On A Summer Night Concord SACD 1982 (24-88_hdtracks)
  • Dave Brubeck - Legacy Of A Legend (2010)
  • The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Brubeck / Desmond (1987)
  • Dave Brubeck - Jazz Impressions of Japan & New York (1964) [2LP on CD]
  • Carmen McRae & Dave Brubeck - Take Five (2009)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?