Lossless music download

Blur - Blur (1997) [2014] [HDTracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Alternative, Rock, Indie, Pop | Author: vicor 61 | 2-06-2018, 15:18
Blur - Blur (1997) [2014] [HDTracks]
Artist: Blur
Title Of Album: Blur
Year Of Release: 2014 (1997)
Label (Catalog#): Parlophone Records
Country: UK
Genre: Indie Rock, Alt. Rock, Britpop
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, front)
Bitrate: Lossless [24Bit/96kHz]
Time: 56:59
Full Size: 1,28 GB

Recorded: June–November 1996 at St?d?? Grettisgat, Reykjavik, Iceland; Maison Rouge Studio, Mayfair Studios and Studio 13 in London, England.

Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine:
The Great Escape, for all of its many virtues, painted Blur into a corner and there was only one way out -- to abandon the Britpop that they had instigated by bringing the weird strands that always floated through their music to the surface. Blur may superficially appear to be a break from tradition, but it is a logical progression, highlighting the band's rich eclecticism and sense of songcraft. Certainly, they are trying for new sonic territory, bringing in shards of white noise, gurgling electronics, raw guitars, and druggy psychedelia, but these are just extensions of previously hidden elements of Blur's music. What makes it exceptional is how hard the band tries to reinvent itself within its own framework, and the level of which it succeeds. "Beetlebum" runs through the White Album in the space of five minutes; "M.O.R." reinterprets Berlin-era Bowie; "You're So Great," despite the corny title, is affecting lo-fi from Graham Coxon; "Country Sad Ballad Man" is bizarrely affecting, strangled lo-fi psychedelia; "Death of a Party" is an affecting resignation; "On Your Own" is an incredible slice of singalong pop spiked with winding, fluid guitar and synth eruptions; while "Look Inside America" cleverly subverts the traditional Blur song, complete with strings. And "Essex Dogs" is a six-minute slab of free verse and rattling guitar noise. Blur might be self-consciously eclectic, but Blur are at their best when they are trying to live up to their own pretensions, because of Damon Albarn's exceptional sense of songcraft and the band's knack for detailed arrangements that flesh out the songs to their fullest. There might be dark overtones to the record, but the band sounds positively joyous, not only in making noise but wreaking havoc with the expectations of its audience and critics.


01 Beetlebum 5:05
02 Song 2 2:01
03 Country Sad Ballad Man 4:50
04 M.O.R. 3:27
05 On Your Own 4:26
06 Theme From Retro 3:37
07 You're So Great 3:35
08 Death Of A Party 4:33
09 Chinese Bombs 1:24
10 I'm Just A Killer For Your Love 4:11
11 Look Inside America 3:50
12 Strange News From Another Star 4:02
13 Movin' On 3:44
14a Essex Dogs 6:16
14b Interlude 1:42

Damon Albarn – vocals, piano, keyboards, Hammond organ, acoustic guitar
Graham Coxon – electric and acoustic guitars, vocals on "You're So Great", theremin
Alex James – bass guitar
Dave Rowntree – drums, percussion

   Comments: 0 | Views: 3525 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Blur - Modern Life Is Rubbish (1993) [2014] [HDTracks]
  • Damon Albarn - Everyday Robots (2014)
  • Blur - Parklife 1994 [2CD Japanese Special Edition] (2012)
  • Blur - Under The Westway : The Puritan (2012)
  • Blur - Blur 21 [Limited Edition, Box Set] (2012)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?