Lossless music download

Maria Callas - Sings Mozart, Beethoven & Weber Arias (1964) [2014] [HDTracks]

Classic, HD Tracks & Vinyl | Author: vicor 61 | 4-07-2018, 19:02
Maria Callas - Sings Mozart, Beethoven & Weber Arias (1964) [2014] [HDTracks]
Artist: Maria Callas
Title Of Album: Sings Mozart, Beethoven & Weber Arias (Remastered)
Year Of Release: 2014 (1964)
Label (Catalog#): Warner Classics
Country: USA / Greece
Genre: Classical, Opera
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, d.booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless [24Bit/96kHz]
Time: 44:27
Full Size: 962 MB

This recital of Austro-German repertoire (albeit composed to Italian and English texts) was prompted by Callas’s indignation on discovering that her EMI producer, Walter Legge, had chosen his wife, Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, for a recording of the Verdi Requiem. ‘If your wife can sing my repertoire, then I can sing hers,’ declared Callas. As it turned out, she complemented arias from ‘Schwarzkopf roles’ (Donna Elvira and Countess Almaviva) with one of Donna Anna’s arias and with scenas by Beethoven and Weber that she had first learned as a student in Athens. (She had sung Leonore in Fidelio in Greece at the age of just 21.) ‘The disc shows the voice in the excitingly fresh condition that was heard in the Covent Garden Toscas [1964],’ wrote Gramophone. ‘The Callas personality is here at its most intense. This tigress is fiercer than ever, in some ways more exciting than ever. The flashing eyes seem to drill into one, and the scalp tingles … This is an exciting disc to fire and excite admirers.’


01 - Beethoven - "Ah ! perfido", Op. 65:Scena & Aria
02 - Mozart - Don Giovanni, K. 527:Act 1: "Or sai chi l'onore" (Donna Anna)
03 - Mozart - Le Nozze di Figaro, K. 492:Act 2: "Porgi, amor" (Countess)
04 - Weber - Oberon, J. 306:Act 2: "Ocean! thou mighty monster" (Reiza)
05 - Mozart - Don Giovanni, K. 527:Act 2: "Non mir dir" (Donna Anna)
06 - Mozart - Don Giovanni, K. 527:Act 2: "In quali eccessi, O Numi!…Mi tradi quell'alma ingrata" (Donna Anna)

Recorded: December 6, 12, 13, 18, 23, 30, 1963 & January 8, 1964 at Salle Wagram, Paris.
Newly Remastered from the Original Master tapes at Abbey Road Studios, London, U.K.

Maria Callas - soprano
Paris Conservatoire Orchestra. Conducted by Nicola Rescigno.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 2118 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Maria Callas - Callas Portrays Verdi Heroines (1959) [2014] [HDTracks]
  • Maria Callas - The Callas Rarities (2014) [HDTracks]
  • Maria Callas - Callas a Paris - More Arias from French Opera [Hi-Res Remast ...
  • Maria Callas - Sings Rossini & Donizetti Arias (1963-64) [2014] [HDTracks]
  • Maria Callas - Callas a Paris I (1961) [Remastered 2014]

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?