Lossless music download

Manfred Mann's Earth Band - The Good Earth (1974) [Japan 2005]

Progressive Rock, Hard Rock, Blues Rock, Japan Editions | Author: vicor 61 | 29-07-2016, 22:02
Manfred Mann's Earth Band - The Good Earth (1974) [Japan 2005]
Artist: Manfred Mann's Earth Band
Title Of Album: The Good Earth [Japan, Remastered]
Year Of Release: 2005 (1974)
Label (Catalog#): Air Mail Archive [AIRAC-1109]
Country: England
Genre: Hard Rock, Prog Rock, jazz Rock, Blues Rock
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 49:37
Full Size: 435 MB

Review by Bruce Eder, All Music:
Another piece of topical hard rock from Manfred Mann's Earth Band and, as before, listenable even to those without a serious bone in their bodies, by virtue of the playing. Moving between hard rock and British blues influences (with a special debt to Cream on the opening cut, "Give Me the Good Earth") and progressive rock, the quartet cuts a mean swathe across the sonic landscape, between Mick Rogers' soaring guitar solos and Manfred Mann's inimitable synthesizer work. Some of the less ambitious cuts, such as "I'll Be Gone," are relatively dispensable, but when these guys start reaching, as on "Earth Hymn," that's when their best musical instincts take hold, and the results are always worth hearing. There's stuff here that King Crimson or Be Bop Deluxe wouldn't have been ashamed to have had on any of their albums; indeed, the instrumental "Sky High" is worth the price of admission by itself as a showcase for the talents of all four players as both hard rock musicians and an art rock ensemble. They even manage to work in elements of folk-rock, and its attendant lyricism, on the album, by way of the Christopher Logue-based "Be Not Too Hard" (which was also recorded, in a different adaptation, by Joan Baez about seven years earlier). And "Earth Hymn, Pt. 2" closes out the album in grand style, once again pushing the band to the edge of their unique brand of progressive/hard rock.


01. Give Me The Good Earth [0:08:31.26]
02. Launching Place [0:05:52.02]
03. I'll Be Gone [0:03:42.10]
04. Earth Hymn [0:06:18.40]
05. Sky High [0:05:15.52]
06. Be Not Too Hard [0:04:12.62]
07. Earth Hymn Part 2 [0:04:21.62]
08. Be Not Too Hard (Single Edit) [0:03:36.55]
09. I'll Be Gone (Single Edit) [0:03:28.39]
10. Earth Hymn Part 2a (Single Edit) [0:04:18.24]

Manfred Mann – keyboards
Mick Rogers – guitars, vocals
Chris Slade – drums
Colin Pattenden – bass guitar

Manfred Mann's Earth Band - The Good Earth (1974) [Japan 2005]

Manfred Mann's Earth Band - The Good Earth (1974) [Japan 2005]

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1253 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Manfred Mann's Earth Band - Solar Fire (Japanese Edition) (1973)
  • Manfred Mann's Earth Band - Manfred Mann's Earth Band (Japanese Edition) ...
  • Manfred Mann's Earth Band - The Very Best Of [Limited Edition] (1993)
  • Manfred Mann's Earth Band - Nightingales & Bombers [Japan LP] (1975)
  • Manfred Mann's Earth Band - Criminal Tango (Japanese) (1999)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?