Lossless music download

Leroy Carr - Whiskey Is My Habit Women Is All I Crave: Best Of Leroy Carr [2CD Remastered] (2004)

Blues | Author: artmuss | 2-10-2016, 15:49
Leroy Carr - Whiskey Is My Habit Women Is All I Crave: Best Of Leroy Carr [2CD Remastered] (2004)Artist: Leroy Carr
Title Of Album: Whiskey Is My Habit Women Is All I Crave: Best Of Leroy Carr
Year Of Release: 2004
Label (Catalog#): Columbia/Legasy [C2K 86989]
Country: United States
Genre: Piano Blues
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 2:01:18
Full Size: 549 mb

The 40 tracks compiled on this two-disc set represent the entire span of pianist and singer Leroy Carr's recording career that spanned a brief seven years, from 1928-1935. The material represented here -- all but one of these tracks were recorded for the Vocalion label -- features accompaniment by guitarist Scrapper Blackwell on all but one selection, and Josh White on a handful as well. Carr's material here ranges from the classic piano blues of the era that spawned Ma Rainey and Bessie Smith to vaudeville and hokum tunes made popular by artists like Tampa Red and Georgia Tom. Carr's voice is the haunting thing here; it's higher and very clear, sweet almost, as evidenced by most of these sides. But there was an edge, too; one that belied a kind of pathos underneath even the most cheery material -- check "Mean Mistreater Blues" or "Bread Baker." But the darker material such as "Suicide Blues" (one of six previously unissued performances), "Straight Alky Blues," or "Shinin' Pistol," is strange and eerie given Carr's smooth approach. Carr may not be the most well-known bluesman of the era, but his contribution is profound and lasting. This collection puts to shame almost all others with the exception of the multi-volume complete recordings on Document. But given the fact that these sides are wonderfully remastered, and 40 tracks are enough for virtually anybody but the hardest core blues punter, this is the set to have.


Disc: 1
1. How Long - How Long Blues
2. Prison Bound Blues
3. Straight Alky Blues Pt. 1
4. Straight Alky Blues Pt. 2
5. Gambler's Blues
6. Sloppy Drunk Blues
7. Papa's On The House Top
8. Midnight Hour Blues
9. Mean Mistreater Mama
10. Hurry Down Sunshine
11. Corn Licker Blues
12. Shady Lane Blues
13. Blues Before Sunrise
14. Take A Walk Around The Corner
15. I Ain't Got No Money Now
16. Motherless Child
17. My Woman's Gone Wrong
18. Southbound Blues
19. Barrelhouse Woman
20. Muddy Water

Disc: 2
1. I Believe I'll Make A Change
2. Don't Start No Stuff
3. Bobo Stomp
4. Big Four Blues
5. Hard Hearted Papa
6. You Left Me Crying
7. Evil Hearted Woman
8. Good Woman Blues
9. Hustler's Blues
10. Eleven Twenty-Nine Blues
11. You Got Me Grieving
12. Bread Baker
13. Tight Times Blues
14. Black Wagon Blues
15. Shinin' Pistol
16. It's Too Short
17. My God For Nothin' Gal
18. Suicide Blues
19. Church House Blues
20. Six Cold Feet In The Ground

   Comments: 0 | Views: 299 |
    Related Releases:     
  • VA - The Real... Blues: The Ultimate Collection [3CD Box Set] (2015)
  • Barrelhouse Chuck - 25 Years Chicago Blues Piano Vol.1 (2014)
  • Barrelhouse Chuck - 25 Years Of Chicago Blues Piano Vol. 2 (2006)
  • VA - Wall Street Blues (2011)
  • New Blues Underground - Whiskey Straight (2012)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?