Lossless music download

Emil Gilels - The Seattle Recital (2016)

Classic | Author: vicor 61 | 7-10-2017, 21:18
Emil Gilels - The Seattle Recital (2016)
Artist: Emil Gilels
Title Of Album: The Seattle Recital
Year Of Release: 2016
Label (Catalog#): Deutsche Grammophon [479 6288 GH]
Country: USSR
Genre: Classical, Piano
Quality: FLAC (*image+.cue+.log,d.booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 01:14:45
Full Size: 255 MB

Emil Grigoryevich Gilels (19 October 1916 – 14 October 1985) was a Soviet pianist, widely regarded as one of the greatest pianists of the 20th century.
This release features a previously-unreleased recording of pianist Emil Gilels, captured live in an acclaimed 1964 Seattle recital. With the exception of a single work, this recital has never before been made available to the general public and is now being released for the first time. Released in time to celebrate the pianist’s 100th anniversary, the recital includes works by Beethoven, Chopin, Debussy, Prokofiev, Stravinsky and more.
Emil Gilels was one of the first Soviet musicians to be allowed to perform regularly in the west after the second world war, and made the first of 15 tours of the US in 1955. This recital was given in the Seattle Opera House in December 1964. It was recorded privately and is now released in full on disc for the first time, marking the centenary of the pianist’s birth later this month. The programme is a typical cross-section of Gilels’ vast repertoire, moving from Beethoven’s Waldstein Sonata, Op 53, to Ravel’s Alborada del Gracioso via Chopin, Prokofiev and Debussy, with party pieces by Stravinsky and Bach (in a Siloti arrangement) added as encores.


Ludwig van Beethoven - Piano Sonata No.21 'Waldstein'
01. I. Allegro con brio (10:32)
02. II. Introduzione. Adagio molto (03:20)
03. III. Rondo. Allegretto moderato … (09:01)

04. Frederic Chopin - Variations on 'La ci darem la mano' from Mozart's Don Giovanni (15:07)

05. Sergei Prokofiev - Piano Sonata No.3 (06:53)

Claude Debussy - Images I
06. I. Reflets dans l'eau. Andantino molto (04:13)
07. II. Hommage a Rameau. Lent et grave (05:12)
08. III. Mouvement. Anime (03:18)

Sergei Prokofiev - Visions fugitives
09. I. Lentamente (01:02)
10. III. Allegretto (00:53)
11. V. Molto giocoso (00:19)
12. XI. Con vivacita (00:59)
13. X. Ridicolosamente (00:46)
14. XVII. Poetico (01:28)

15. Maurice Ravel - Miroirs - IV. Alborada del gracioso (05:47)

16. Igor Stravinsky - Trois mouvements de 'Petrouchka' - I. Danse russe (02:37)

17. J.S. Bach/Siloti - Prelude BWV 855a (03:09)

Emil Gilels - The Seattle Recital (2016)

Emil Gilels - The Seattle Recital (2016)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 627 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Simon Rattle - Debussy: Images; Jeux; La Mer; Ravel: Alborada del Gracioso; ...
  • Arabella Steinbacher, Russian National Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko - Sergei ...
  • Emil Gilels - Beethoven: Eroica Variations, Piano Sonatas Nos.21 & 23 (1972 ...
  • Beethoven - Complete Piano Sonatas (Maurizio Pollini) (2014)
  • Beethoven - Piano concerto Nos.1&3 (Emil Gilels & Adrian Boult) (2011)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?