Lossless music download

Stan Getz - Quartet 1960 - Live In Amsterdam, Dusseldorf & Zurich (2016)

Jazz | Author: vicor 61 | 14-10-2016, 12:44
Stan Getz - Quartet 1960 - Live In Amsterdam, Dusseldorf & Zurich (2016)
Artist: Stan Getz (Stan Getz Quartet)
Title Of Album: Quartet 1960 - Live In Amsterdam, Dusseldorf & Zurich
Year Of Release: 2016
Label (Catalog#): Fresh Sound Records [FSR-CD 897]
Country: USA
Genre: Jazz / Cool / West Coast Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 01:18:42
Full Size: 525 MB

Stan Getz, one of the most gifted and influential of American jazzmen of his time and a consistent favorite of the U.S. public, was living since July 1958 in a small town outside Copenhagen, where he had started a new life. Like many American expatriate jazzmen, he found the relaxed European lifestyle more conducive to his creativity; there was more time to develop and try out new ideas. It was to prove an artistically flourishing and assertive time for him.
By the spring of 1960, he was ready to leave Copenhagen and start travelling the continent with Norman Granz’ Jazz at the Philharmonic troupe, where, in Swedish pianist Jan Johansson, Ray Brown on bass and Ed Thigpen on drums, he had an excellent rhythm section to support the more lyrical and forceful playing he achieved in Europe. “He doesn’t seem dry and intellectual as he used to,” said one Danish jazz critic. “He has soul in every note he plays. Getz demonstrates that the modern school isn’t as bloodless as people have been thinking. He builds up his themes with unerring logic, and it is almost incredible that he can give his tone so much richness and fullness without vibrato…” It was a golden time for Getz, and all these qualities are evident in these concert performances recorded in Amsterdam, Dusseldorf and Zurich.


01. Out of Nowhere (Green-Heyman) 9:09
02. The Thrill Is Gone (Henderson-Brown) 4:19
03. Lover Come Back to Me (Romberg-Hammerstein II) 8:32
04. Pammie’s Tune (Stan Getz) 8:36
05. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most (Wolf-Landesman) 4:21
06. Gone with the Wind (Wrubel-Magidson) 5:51
07. Cherokee (Ray Noble) 8:03
08. Woody ‘n You (Dizzy Gillespie) 7:27
09. Pernod (Johnny Mandel) 7:44
10. I Remember Clifford (Benny Golson) 5:10
11. Land’s End (Harold Land) 9:30

The Stan Getz Quartet:
Stan Getz, tenor sax; Jan Johansson, piano; Ray Brown, bass; Ed Thigpen, drums.

Tracks #1-7, recorded at Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Holland, April 10, 1960
Tracks #8-9, recorded at Rheinhalle, Dusseldorf, March 28, 1960
Tracks #10-11, recorded at Kongresshaus, Zurich, April 8, 1960

Produced for CD release by Jordi Pujol
Stereo · 24 Bit Digitally Remastered

Stan Getz - Quartet 1960 - Live In Amsterdam, Dusseldorf & Zurich (2016)

Stan Getz - Quartet 1960 - Live In Amsterdam, Dusseldorf & Zurich (2016)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 325 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Stan Getz - Stan Getz in Warsaw (1991)
  • Stan Getz – Stan Getz Quartet In Paris (1966)
  • Stan Getz - Stan Getz at Nalen 1959: live in the Swedish Harlem / with Jan ...
  • Stan Getz Sextet - Stan Getz with Cal Tjader (1958)
  • Stan Getz - Stan Getz Plays (1954/2002)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?