Lossless music download

Super Furry Animals - Hey Venus! [2CD Edition] (2008)

Alternative, Rock, Indie | Author: artmuss | 12-04-2019, 23:39
Super Furry Animals - Hey Venus! [2CD Edition] (2008)Artist: Super Furry Animals
Title Of Album: Hey Venus!
Year Of Release: 2008
Label (Catalog#): Rough Trade [RTRADCD 423]
Country: Wales
Genre: Alternative, Indie Rock, Britpop
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 50:23
Full Size: 427 mb

Hey Venus! is the eighth album by Welsh band Super Furry Animals. It was released on 27 August 2007 in the United Kingdom. Hey Venus! is the band's first full-length release on current label Rough Trade Records and, at just over 36 minutes, is also their shortest-running studio release. The title is taken from the first line of the song "Into the Night".

The album was conceived as a "rowdy pop record", both in response to Rough Trade's request for "one of those pop records like you used to make" and as a result of the "very different atmosphere" the band encountered at shows on the Love Kraft tour when the 'slow' songs from that album were played. In contrast with many Super Furry Animals albums, no samplers were used during recording of Hey Venus! as the group made a conscious decision to create a "simple record" which "capture[d] the spirit of the band playing live in a room". Dave Newfeld took over production duties from Mario Caldato Jr., who had worked on both Phantom Power and Love Kraft, as the band didn't want to "repeat [their] past two records". As with Love Kraft, all members of the band contributed songs at the recording stage but, besides chief songwriter Gruff Rhys, only guitarist Huw Bunford ("Battersea Odyssey") and keyboard player Cian Ciaran ("Carbon Dating") ended up with their tracks on the finished album.

The album follows the life and adventures of a character called Venus as she moves "from a small town to a big metropolis". The band have given several explanations for the appearance of this narrative arc in the record claiming variously that Hey Venus! was conceived as a concept album, that the similar themes in the songs were only noticed after they had been written and were used as a way of "structuring and compiling the album" and that the Venus concept was thought up after the album's completion in order to give sleeve designer Keiichi Tanaami "a reference point to make an illustration from." After working with Pete Fowler since 1997's Radiator the band asked Tanaami to produce artwork for Hey Venus!, having been "blown away" by his work on a Japanese tour.

Critical response was generally positive with some reviews claiming Hey Venus! is "[the band's] most satisfying work" and exhibits a "full-fledged return to pop power". Some critics, however, pointed out that the album has the "faint whiff of musical conservatism" and "must rank as [the Super Furry Animals'] least adventurous" record.


CD 1
1. "The Gateway Song" 0:43
2. "Run-Away" 2:53
3. "Show Your Hand" 2:51
4. "The Gift That Keeps Giving" 3:19
5. "Neo Consumer" 2:03
6. "Into the Night" 3:32
7. "Baby Ate My Eight Ball" 3:35
8. "Carbon Dating" (Cian Ciaran) 4:35
9. "Suckers!" 4:05
10. "Battersea Odyssey" (Huw Bunford) 4:07
11. "Let the Wolves Howl at the Moon" 4:41

CD 2
1. "Never More" (Also on Japanese release) 2:25
2. "Aluminium Illuminati" (Also on Japanese release) 2:37
3. "These Bones" 3:23
4. "That's What I'm Talking About" 5:41

Gruff Rhys – Lead vocals, rhythm guitar, electric saz, organ
Huw Bunford – Lead guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Battersea Odyssey"
Guto Pryce – Bass guitar
Cian Ciaran – Keyboards, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Carbon Dating"
Dafydd Ieuan – Drums, backing vocals

Recording personnel
Dave Newfeld – Production, additional mixing on "Suckers!"
Myriam Correge – Recording assistant (Miraval Studios)
Richard Matthews – Recording assistant (Rockfield Studios)
Phil Ault – Recording assistant (Rockfield Studios)
Chris Shaw – Mixing
Super Furry Animals – Mixing
Simon Dawson – Mixing assistant (Pleasurefoxxx Studios)
Richard Matthews – Mixing assistant (Rockfield Studios)
Greg Calbi – Mastering (Sterling Sound, New York)

Additional musicians
Kris Jenkins – Percussion (Tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11)
Gary Alesbrook – Trumpet (3, 4, 7, 10)
Nick Atwood – Trombone (3, 4, 7, 10, 11)
Martin Owen – French horn (3)
Phil Woods – French Horn (3)
Kathryn Saunders – French Horn (3)
Matt Sibley – Saxophone (4, 7, 10)
Brian Wright – Violin (3, 8)
Charles Nolan – Violin (3, 8)
Rick Koster – Violin (3, 8)
Laura Melhuish – Violin (3, 8)
Amanda Britton – Violin (3, 8)
Sally Herbert – Violin (3, 8)
Marcus Holloway – Cello (3, 8)
Ian Burdge – Cello (3, 8)
Sean O'Hagan – String arrangements
Super Furry Animals – String arrangements



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1907 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Super Furry Animals - Mwng [Deluxe Edition] (2015)
  • Super Furry Animals - Songbook: The Singles (2004)
  • Super Furry Animals - Mwng (2015)
  • Keith Richards - Talk is Cheap [Vinyl Rip]
  • Super Furry Animals - Phantom Power (2003) DTS 5.1

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?