Lossless music download

Hawkwind - In Search Of Space (1971) [Remastered 2001]

Rock, Progressive Rock, Classic Rock | Author: artmuss | 17-10-2016, 13:33
Hawkwind - In Search Of Space (1971) [Remastered 2001]Artist: Hawkwind
Title Of Album: In Search Of Space
Year Of Release: 2001 [1971]
Label (Catalog#): Parlophone/EMI [7243 5 30030 2 9]
Country: England
Genre: Space Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Prog Rock
Quality: FLAC (tracks,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 57:42
Full Size: 408 mb
WebSite: Album Preview

Melody Maker reviewed the album in the context of contemporary German acts, feeling that "their instrumental playing" did not reach the same heights but that "they yield precedence to no-one in their creative use of electronics." Beat Instrumental assessed the album as "excellent", saying that the "music alternates between spaced out imagery and hard rock" as well as commenting that this is the start of the space trip leading to the "Space Opera".

In the USA, Lester Bangs in Rolling Stone favourably appraised the album in the context of other musical works concerned with space, going on to describe the music as "monotone jammings with hypnotic rhythms and solos unravelling off into... well, space. The synthesizers warble, woof and scream and gurgle like barfing computers, the drums pound, and the singers chant Unknown Tongue rebops." Billboard described the music as "forcefully compelling, electronic and repetitive" and the band "nearly brings to fruition its claim of being a truly 'mind-expanding' rock group"

In April 2006 it made No. 83 in Classic Rock's "The 100 Greatest British Rock Albums", noting that "drummer Terry Ollis and bassist Dave Anderson could hit an awesome groove, allowing the rest of the band to cut loose on their acid-fuelled sonic adventures without fear of losing themselves or their listeners." In the same issue, Porcupine Tree's Steven Wilson placed it at No. 2 in his top 5, adding "it's an extraordinary whirlpool of cosmic sound, the definitive space-rock statement. I love the album's repetitive, almost pagan feel. It dispensed with the idea of soloists and has a real sense of 'otherness'."


1 You Shouldn't Do That 15:41
2 You Know You're Only Dreaming 6:37
3 Master Of The Universe 6:16
4 We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago 4:50
5 Adjust Me 5:46
6 Children Of The Sun 3:21

Bonus Tracks
7 Seven By Seven (Original Single Version) 5:23
8 Silver Machine (Original Single Version) 4:39
9 Born To Go (Live Single Version Edit) 5:06

Line-up / Musicians
- Dave Brock / vocals, electric and 6- & 12-string acoustic guitars, audio generator
- Del Dettmar / synthesizer
- Michael "DikMik" Davies / audio generator
- Nik Turner / alto sax, flute, audio generator, vocals
- Dave Anderson / bass, acoustic & electric guitars
- Terry Ollis / drums, percussion

With (unconfirmed):
- Robert Calvert / vocals (7-9)
- Ian "Lemmy" Kilmister / bass, vocals (8)
- Simon King / drums (7-9)

   Comments: 1 | Views: 1175 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Dave Brock - Brockworld (2015)
  • Hawkwind - This Is Your Captain Speaking Your Captain Is Dead: The Albums a ...
  • Nik Turner - Space Gypsy (2013)
  • Hawkwind - The Hawkwind 2001 (EP)
  • Hawkwind - In Search Of Space 1971 (Japanese 2010)

  • #1: denom (18 October 2016 17:16)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 9.05.2012
    File not found! Pl re-upload, thanks.

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?