Lossless music download

Four Tops - The Definitive Collection [Remastered] (2008)

Jazz, Blues, Pop | Author: artmuss | 1-11-2016, 22:37
Four Tops - The Definitive Collection [Remastered] (2008)Artist: Four Tops
Title Of Album: The Definitive Collection
Year Of Release: 2008
Label (Catalog#): Motown [B0011733-02]
Country: United States
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: FLAC (tracks,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 51:32
Full Size: 866 mb
WebSite: Album Preview

Solid and steady hitmakers for Motown in the late 1960s, the Four Tops, led by the deep, soulful voice of Levi Stubbs and blessed with A-line songs from the Holland-Dozier-Holland writing team, were one of the finest singing groups the label ever produced. Singles like "Reach Out I'll Be There," "Standing in the Shadows of Love," "Bernadette," "I Can't Help Myself," and the wise-beyond-its-era "It's the Same Old Song" were radio staples in their time, and actually still continue to be staples on 21st century oldies stations. That's staying power, and it's no accident. The songs, at least the singles, were good and the Tops' sound was a hair rougher and edgier than a lot of Motown's issues at the time. It was a winning combination. This set has all of the above songs, each of which is essential, and plenty of other stuff that isn't quite so essential (the Four Tops were really a singles act -- their LPs tended to have a fair amount of filler). It also doesn't have anything the group recorded after they left Motown, but the Four Tops' peak years were at Motown anyway, so for most listeners, this set will be just fine.


01. Reach Out I'll Be There (3:00)
02. Standing in the Shadows of Love (2:39)
03. Bernadette (3:03)
04. Ask the Lonely (2:42)
05. Baby I Need Your Loving (2:46)
06. Without the One You Love (Life's Not Worthwhile) (2:45)
07. It's the Same Old Song (2:47)
08. Loving You is Sweeter than Ever (2:48)
09. I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch) (2:44)
10. Something About You (2:42)
11. I Got A Feeling (2:54)
12. Walk Away Renee (2:44)
13. Four Tops - Still Water (Love) (3:13)
14. (It's the Way) Nature Planned it (3:46)
15. It's All in the Game (2:45)
16. You Keep Running Away (2:51)
17. 7-Rooms of Gloom (2:35)
18. Shake Me, Wake Me (When It's Over) (2:39)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1082 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Four Tops - Reach Out (1967) [Reissue 1986]
  • VA - Every Great Motown Song - The First 25 Years - Volume 1: The 1960's ( ...
  • Four Tops - Motown's Greatest Hits (1992)
  • The Four Tops - The Singles+ (2000)
  • Four Tops - Colour Collection (2007)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?