Lossless music download

The Attack - About Time (1967-69) Remastered (2006)

Rock | Author: sirk | 6-10-2017, 09:20
The Attack - About Time (1967-69) Remastered (2006)Artist: The Attack
Title Of Album: About Time
Year Of Release: 1967-69/2006
Label (Catalog#) :RPM [RPM BC 317]
Country:: UK
Genre: Freakbeat, Garage Rock, Psychedelia, Mod
Quality: FLAC(image+ cue,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 00:56:04
Full Size: 242mb(+5%)

They were an incredibly hot property at the time, especially in the local London clubs, yet even with two future Nice stars, an Atomic Rooster-to-be, and a member of Marmalade in their various ranks, the Attack failed to breach the British chart. Long gone but far from forgotten, the mods-cum-psychedelic rockers finally get their due with this sumptuous compilation. Amazingly, between the time the Attack first entered the studio in 1966 and their final recordings together in 1968, they shifted their lineup four times. Thankfully, the sleeve notes provide some assistance untangling their convulsive history, with the aid of an interview with frontman Richard Shirman, who also annotates all 16 of the tracks within. The Attack released only four singles during their all-too-brief lifespan, and both sides of all their 45s are included here, joined by a pair of numbers recorded during a BBC radio session and a clutch of unreleased studio recordings. As the songs are not presented chronologically, About Time! has a rather mishmash feel, bouncing willy-nilly around the years and lineups. It's worth pointing out then that the quirky story-song "Neville Thumbcatch" was recorded eight months before Cream's equally eccentric "Pressed Rat and Warthog" hit the shops! The Attack's assault on the scene came from a variety of musical directions that included splashy mod, shiny pop, hefty blues, assaultive rock, and aggressive psychedelia. And perhaps this was a small part of their problem -- every time one turned around, the band had a new look and another sound. Still, the talent within their ranks was phenomenal, and with their keen ear for covers, a splendid sense of melody, and their own talents with a pen, the Attack should have won the day. They didn't back then, but the war's not quite over yet.

01. Anymore Than I Do (O'List, Shirman) - 2:06
02. Feel Like Flying (Aka Making It) (John DuCann) - 2:37
03. Created By Clive (Radio Session) (Pattison) - 2:45
04. Try It (Levine, Ballack) - 2:07
05. Go Your Way (John DuCann) - 2:45
06. Too Old (John DuCann) - 3:05
07. Colour Of My Mind (Richard Shirman) - 2:30
08. Lady Orange Peel (Richard Shirman) - 2:28
09. Sympathy For The Devil (Jagger, Richards) - 4:49
10. Neville Thumbcatch (Smith, Bain) - 3:03
11. Strange House (John DuCann) - 4:10
12. Created By Clive (Pattison) - 2:41
13. Mr Pinnodmy's Dilemma (John DuCann) - 4:27
14. Come On Up (Previously Unreleased) (Felix Cavaliere) - 2:49
15. Freedom For You (John DuCann) - 2:36
16. Hi Ho Silver Lining (English Weiss, Lancer) - 2:30
17. Magic In The Air (Aka Watch With Mother) (John DuCann) - 3:38
18. Anything (Previously Unreleased) (Richard Shirman) - 2:08
19. We Don't Know (O'List, Shirman) - 2:44

John DuCann - Guitar
Richard Shirman - Vocals
George Watt - Organ
Alan Whitehead - Drums
Jim Avery - Bass Guitar
Geoff Richardson - Guitar
Kenny Harold - Bass Guitar
Keith Hodge - Drums
Roger Deane - Bass Guitar
Chris Allen - Drums
Gerry Henderson - Bass
Davey O'List - Guitar
Bob Hodges - Organ

You Must Register Before You Can View This Hide Text For Download.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 417 |
    Related Releases:     
  • John Du Cann - The Many Sides Of 1967-1980 (2012)
  • The Factory - Path Through The Forest (2008)
  • The Five Day Week Straw People - The Five Day Week Straw People (1968)
  • Attack Attack! - This Means War (2012)
  • Tora Tora - Surprise Attack 1989

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?