Lossless music download

Songs: Ohia - The Magnolia Electric Co. [10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition] (2013)

Rock, Indie, Folk | Author: artmuss | 25-11-2016, 19:14
Songs: Ohia - The Magnolia Electric Co. [10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition] (2013)Artist: Songs: Ohia
Title Of Album: The Magnolia Electric Co.
Year Of Release: 2013
Label (Catalog#): Secretly Canadian [SC300]
Country: United States
Genre: Folk Rock, Indie Rock, Singer/Songwriter
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:43:35
Full Size: 623 mb

The Magnolia Electric Co. is the seventh regular and final album by Songs: Ohia. It was recorded by Steve Albini at Electrical Audio in Chicago and released by Secretly Canadian on March 4, 2003. It received critical acclaim according to Metacritic (with a composite rating of 85, ranking 24th among best albums of 2003). Delusions of Adequacy called it "a watershed album, an artistic breakthrough, and the first album to fully realize Molina's potential." Allmusic was more reticent in its wording, claiming that "Magnolia Electric Co. may not be the best Songs: Ohia album, but it is certainly the most approachable. It has a big, open feel certain to appeal to any classic rock fan, but retains the warm intimacy of previous albums."

The naming of the album and comments by Jason Molina have led to discussions whether it is not, in fact, the first album by Molina's new band, also named Magnolia Electric Co. In fact the artwork for the album does not contain the name Songs: Ohia anywhere. On the other hand, the album was recorded with different musicians than the later members of Magnolia Electric Co., and the decision to take on the new name was not announced until the tour following the release in the spring of 2003. Molina later declared Didn't It Rain to be the final Songs: Ohia album.


The Magnolia Electric Co.
CD1-1 Farewell Transmission 7:22
CD1-2 I've Been Riding With The Ghost 3:20
CD1-2 Just Be Simple 4:20
CD1-4 Almost Was Good Enough 4:28
CD1-5 The Old Black Hen 5:48
CD1-6 Peoria Lunch Box Blues 5:48
CD1-7 John Henry Split My Heart 6:09
CD1-8 Hold On Magnolia 7:51

Album Session Outtakes
CD1-9 The Big Game Is Every Night 9:54
CD1-10 Whip-Poor-Will 3:53

The Magnolia Electric Co - Demos
CD2-1 Farewell Transmission 6:56
CD2-2 I've Been Riding With The Ghost 3:10
CD2-3 Just Be Simple 2:54
CD2-4 The Old Black Hen 4:56
CD2-5 Peoria Lunchbox Blues 4:25
CD2-6 John Henry Split My Heart 5:49
CD2-7 Hold On Magnolia 6:23
CD2-8 The Big Game Is Every Night 6:26
CD2-9 Whip-Poor-Will 3:35

Jason Molina – voice, guitar
Jennie Benford – voice, mandolin
Mike Brenner – lapsteel
"Three Nickel" Jim Grabowski – piano, organ, wurlitzer
Dan Macadam – guitar, voice, violin
Jeff Panall – drums
Lawrence Peters – voice (on "The Old Black Hen")
Scout Niblett – voice (on "Peoria Lunchbox Blues")
Dan Sullivan – guitar
Rob Sullivan – bass
Songs by Jason Molina
Recorded by Steve Albini

   Comments: 1 | Views: 310 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Juana Molina - Son (2006)
  • Eddie Ceballos - Electric Bluesland (1996)
  • Travellin' Brothers - One Day In Norway (2016)
  • The Pineapple Thief – Magnolia (2014) [2CD Media Book]
  • Songs: Ohia – Journey On: Collected Singles (2014)

  • #1: angel44 (25 November 2016 22:04)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.04.2013

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?