Lossless music download

Doug Sahm & Sir Douglas Quintet - The Complete Mercury Masters [5CD Remastered Box Set] (2005)

Rock, Blues Rock, Folk, Discographies | Author: artmuss | 13-09-2019, 13:48
Doug Sahm & Sir Douglas Quintet - The Complete Mercury Masters [5CD Remastered Box Set] (2005)Artist: Doug Sahm & Sir Douglas Quintet
Title Of Album: The Complete Mercury Masters
Year Of Release: 2005
Label (Catalog#): Hip-O Select [B4002496-02]
Country: United States
Genre: Blues/Country-Rock, Roots Rock, Tex-Mex
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 5:48:31
Full Size: 2.02 gb

Everybody who knew Doug Sahm liked him, and everyone who didn’t know him, but knew his work, respected him. He was manic, he was a larger-than-life character, and his passion for music was exceeded only – if at all – by his passion for baseball. It’s the former with which we concern ourselves here, as we follow the Sir Douglas Quintet in various configurations through what critics generally regard as Sahm’s fertile early period (he would later go on to form the Texas Tornados, among other things). The Sir Douglas Quintet was supposed to capitalize on the British Invasion, but it would take an advanced case of astigmatism to think the band had roots in the UK. And with a couple of cosmetic exceptions, their music was firmly linked to America (in the broadest sense). For Doug and his band, virtually any genre was up for grabs – rock, blues, soul, country, psychedelic, norte?o, polka, whatever. They played it all, and they played it proficiently. One of life’s great mysteries is how Doug Sahm isn’t in the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame, since his music has inspired two generations of musicians, and he can rightly lay claim to being the Godfather of the Austin music scene. Anthologized heavily throughout the years, Sir Doug’s music from the Mercury/Smash era has never before been collected systematically and presented so handsomely. This box set covers six albums, all the mono singles, Spanish-language recordings and a number of Doug’s productions on which his band appears. The box was conceived and executed by Grammy®-winning producer Bill Levenson, and it was remastered in 2004 from the original master tapes. It includes liner notes by critic Scott Schinder and rare photos of Doug and the band. No single package could contain all the vibrancy and vision Doug Sahm possessed, but this particular set is celebratory for those who lived through the ear and revelatory for those who didn’t.


Disc: 1
1. Are Inlaws Really Outlaws
2. Sell a Song
3. Song of Everything
4. Can You Dig My Vibrations
5. I'm Glad for Your Sake (But I'm Sorry for Mine)
6. Whole Lotta Peace of Mind
7. You Never Get Too Big and You Sure Don't Get Too Heavy, That You Don't
8. Suzie Q [#]
9. San Antonio Rose [#]
10. Mendocino
11. Don't Want
12. I Wanna Be Your Mama Again
13. At the Crossroads
14. If You Really Want Me to I'll Go
15. And It Didn't Even Bring Me Down
16. Lawd, I'm Just a Country Boy in This Great Big Freaky City
17. She's About a Mover
18. Texas Me
19. Oh, Baby, It Just Don't Matter
20. Sunday Sunny Mill Valley Groove Day [Outtake]
21. Dynamite Woman [Single]
22. Too Many Dociled Minds [Single]

Disc: 2
1. Nuevo Laredo
2. Dallas Alice
3. T-Bone Shuffle
4. I Don't Want to Go Home
5. Medley: Son of Bill Baety
6. Backwood's Girl
7. Revolutionary Ways
8. Seguin
9. If She'd Only Come to Me
10. Magic Illusion
11. Medley: One Too Many Mornings/Got to Sing a Happy Song
12. Yesterday Got in the Way
13. In the Dark
14. Don't Bug Me!, Pts. 1-2
15. Be Real
16. Pretty Flower
17. What About Tomorrow?
18. Catch the Man on the Rise
19. Tortilla Flats
20. A Nice Song
21. Monterey Sun
22. Sixty Minutes of Your Love
23. I Wanna Be Your Mama Again [Single Session Out-Take]
24. I Don't Want to Go Home [Single B-Side]

Disc: 3
1. Texas Me [Single Session Out-Take]
2. Preach What You Live, Live What You Preach
3. She's Huggin' You, But She's Lookin' at Me
4. Keep Your Soul
5. Papa Ain't Salty
6. Stoned Faces Don't Lie
7. Me and My Destiny
8. Wasted Days, Wasted Nights
9. The Railpak Dun Done in the del Monte
10. Oh Lord, Please Let It Rain in Texas
11. The Gypsy
12. Michoacan [Single]
13. Westside Blues Again [Single B-Side]

Disc: 4
1. Sir Doug's Recording Trip
2. You're Doin' It Too Hard
3. The Homecoming
4. Soulful Woman
5. Too Many Dociled Minds
6. Southside Girls
7. Hello Amsterdam
8. Spearfish by Night
9. Colinda
10. Linda Lou
11. Dynamite Woman
12. Leaving Kansas City
13. At the Crossroads [Alternate Mix]
14. Texas Me [Alternate Mix]
15. Mendocino [Spanish Version]
16. Que Sera Ma?ana [What About Tomorrow]
17. Nuevo Laredo [Spanish Version]
18. La Luna Fue Culpable (And It Didn't Even Bring Me Down) [Spanish Version]
19. Ain't Goin' Down Right [Single]
20. Lovin' Man on Your Hands [Single B-Side]
21. Lovin' Man on Your Hands [Single]
22. Reconsider Baby [Single B-Side]
23. Your Bag Is Bringing Me Down
24. Movin' Out

Disc: 5
1. Are Inlaws Really Outlaws [Mono Single]
2. Sell a Song [Mono Single]
3. Mendocino [Mono Single]
4. I Wanna Be Your Mama [Mono Single]
5. And It Didn't Even Bring Me Down [Mono Single]
6. Lawd, I'm Just a Country Boy in This Great Big Freaky City [Mono Single
7. Dynamite Woman [Mono Single]
8. Too Many Dociled Minds [Mono Single]
9. At the Crossroads [Mono Single]
10. Texas Me [Mono Single]
11. Nuevo Laredo [Mono Single]
12. I Don't Want to Go Home [Mono Single]
13. Be Real [Mono Single]
14. I Don't Want to Go Home [Mono Single]
15. What About Tomorrow [Mono Single]
16. (I Found Love) A Nice Song [Mono Single]
17. Catch the Man on the Rise [Mono Single]
18. Pretty Flower [Mono Single]
19. Me and My Destiny [Mono Single]
20. Wasted Days, Wasted Nights [Mono Single]
21. Michoacan [Mono Single]
22. Westside Blues Again [Mono Single]

   Comments: 1 | Views: 2081 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Temptations - 50th Anniversary ~ The Singles Collection 1961-1971 [Box ...
  • The Beatles with Tony Sheridan - Single Box (9 SHM-CD Box Set) 2013
  • The Who - Who's Missing / Two's Missing [2 CD] (1985 / 1987)
  • The Who - The Singles [2 CD] (1984)
  • Marvin Gaye - What's Going On (40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition) (201 ...

  • #1: georgy1 (12 December 2016 18:45)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 26.05.2012
    Thanks a lot winked

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?