Lossless music download

VA - Never Mind the Mainstream: The Best of MTV's 120 Minutes Vol. 1 & 2 (1991) [Remastered]

Alternative, Rock, Punk, Indie | Author: artmuss | 8-02-2017, 14:35
VA - Never Mind the Mainstream: The Best of MTV's 120 Minutes Vol. 1 & 2 (1991) [Remastered]Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Never Mind the Mainstream: The Best of MTV's 120 Minutes Vol. 1 & 2
Year Of Release: 1991
Label: Rhino Records/Warner Special Products
Country: International
Genre: Alternative, Indie, Pop Rock, Post-Punk
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 2:08:24
Full Size: 880 mb

Released in 1991, Rhino's MTV: Best of 120 Minutes is one of the last snapshots of college rock/alternative music just before grunge dominated, inflated, and ultimately burnt out the genre. The Red Hot Chili Peppers' version of "Higher Ground" is probably the album's hardest-rocking track -- though Sonic Youth's classic "Kool Thing" comes close -- making way for a brace of moody, quirky, but above all, poppy songs like Camper Van Beethoven's "Eye of Fatima, Pt. 1," They Might Be Giants' "Ana Ng," Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians' "Balloon Man," and World Party's "Put the Message in the Box." Alt radio staples of the era, such as the Stone Roses' "Fool's Gold," Sin?ad O'Connor's "Mandinka," XTC's "Dear God," the Church's "Under the Milky Way Tonight," and Bob Mould's excellent "See a Little Light" retain their status as underground classics yet still sound fresh, aging far more gracefully than the grunge and nu-metal that supplanted them. Songs from Cocteau Twins, Julian Cope, Mission UK, and Soul Asylum round out this engaging, somewhat nostalgic time capsule of a time when MTV not only played videos, but gave airtime to smart, left-of-center artists like these.


Vol. 1
01. Red Hot Chili Peppers - Higher Ground
02. Soul Asylum - Sometime to Return
03. The Stone Roses - Fools Gold
04. The Mission - Wasteland
05. Bob Mould - See a Little Light
06. The Church - Under the Milky Way
07. Cocteau Twins - Carolyn's Fingers
08. Julian Cope - World Shut Your Mouth
09. Sin?ad O'Connor - Mandinka
10. Sonic Youth - Kool Thing
11. Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians - Balloon Man
12. World Party - Put the Message in the Box
13. XTC - Dear God
14. They Might Be Giants - Ana Ng
15. Camper Van Beethoven - Eye of Fatima, Part 1
16. Modern English - I Melt With You

Tracks 5, 7, 12 & 16 are listed as CD bonus tracks.

Acting as a sampler for MTV's flagship alternative show, Never Mind the Mainstream... was the best compilation of '80s alternative music released in America at the time. Featuring powerhouse tracks by R.E.M., Joy Division, Depeche Mode, and the Violent Femmes, this album serves as the ultimate introduction to what was popular in the alternative underground at the time. Several good, underrated songs are stacked up next to the classics and do just fine on their own. New Order's "Perfect Kiss" stands surprisingly well between Joy Division's classic "Love Will Tear Us Apart" and Depeche Mode's mega-hit "Personal Jesus." H?sker D? and the Jesus and Mary Chain contribute driving, powerful rock tracks; elsewhere, Ministry showcases their paranoid anger with the club hit "Stigmata." The only weak moments are provided by Public Image Ltd.'s repetitive "This Is Not a Love Song" and Wire's boring "Eardrum Buzz." If only they had chosen PiL's "Rise" and Wire's "Reuters," the album would be nearly perfect. But between the awesome liner notes (which include bios and a thank you from host Dave Kendall) and the general high quality of the music, this is a fantastic album that serves as a wonderful sampler for these artists' talents.


Vol. 1
01. R.E.M. - Orange Crush
02. Public Image Ltd. - This Is Not a Love Song
03. Ramones - Do You Remember Rock 'n' Roll Radio?
04. X - Burning House of Love
05. Ministry - Stigmata
06. Morrissey - Everyday Is Like Sunday
07. The Jesus & Mary Chain - Head On
08. Echo & The Bunnymen - The Killing Moon
09. Joy Division - Love Will Tear Us Apart
10. New Order - The Perfect Kiss
11. Depeche Mode - Personal Jesus
12. Sugarcubes - Birthday
13. H?sker D? - Could You Be the One?
14. Faith No More - We Care a Lot
15. Violent Femmes - Gone Daddy Gone
16. Wire - Eardrum Buzz

Tracks 4, 7, 12 & 16 are listed as CD bonus tracks.

Compiled By – Kurt Steffek
Remastered By [Remastering] – Bob Fisher

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1234 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Depeche Mode - Delta Machine (2014)
  • VA - 12"/80s Alternative [3 CD Box Set] (2011)
  • VA - Dark Side of the 80s (2003)
  • Depeche Mode - Greatest Hits [4CD] (2009)
  • Joy Division & New Order - Total (2011)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?