Lossless music download

Isaac Hayes - Groove-A-Thon (1976) [2016] [HDtracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Blues, Pop | Author: BlondStyle | 12-02-2017, 00:05
Isaac Hayes - Groove-A-Thon (1976) [2016] [HDtracks]Artist: Isaac Hayes
Title Of Album: Groove-A-Thon
Year Of Release: 2016 (1976)
Label: Stax Records
Country: USA
Genre: R&B, Soul/Funk, Disco
Quality: FLAC (tracks, digital booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless [24bit/192kHz]
Time: 41:40
Full Size: 1,73 Gb

The title track employs "Shaft"-like guitar licks, but the similarity ends there: It's a lame attempt at disco done in by Ike's lazy singing and irritatingly banal lyrics. But it's the LP's only sore point. Ike returns to his roots on "Your Loving Is Much Too Strong," a slow, romantic ballad that he and his girls, Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited, make you feel. "Rock Me Easy Baby," a slinky, syncopated shuffle, has more groove appeal than the vaunted "Groove-A-Thon," mainly because Ike constructs it for maximum soul appeal by running it for more than eight exquisite minutes. The uptempo happy-in-love ditty "We've Got a Whole Lot of Love" showcases HBS' sterling voices. Ike shows a different side on the soft, longing "Wish You Were Here," whose horn arrangements and backing vocals are simultaneously enticing and titillating. After a weak opening, the album settles into a comfortable groove, ending splendidly with "Make a Little Love to Me." ~Review by Andrew Hamilton~


Alto Saxophone – Bill Easley, Emerson Able
Arranged By – Isaac Hayes, Lester Snell
Art Direction – Tom Wilkes
Backing Band [Rhythm By], Horns – Movement
Backing Vocals – Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited, Isaac Hayes
Baritone Saxophone – Floyd Newman
Bass – Erroll Thomas
Congas – Jimmy Thompson
Design [Album] – Martin Donald
Drums, Tambourine – Willie Cole, Willie Hall
Engineer – Henry Bush, Roosevelt Green
Engineer [Re-mix] – Henry Bush, Isaac Hayes, Roosevelt Green
French Horn – Bryant Munch, Richard Dolph
Guitar – Michael Toles, William Vaughn
Keyboards – Isaac Hayes, Lester Snell, Sidney Kirk
Mastered By – Lanky Linstrot
Photography By – Jeff Dunas
Producer – Isaac Hayes
Tenor Saxophone – Darnell Smith, Lewis Collins, Tommy Williams
Trombone – Jackie Thomas, Bill Flores
Trombone [Bass] – Gary Russell
Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Ben Cauley, Edgar Matthews, Johnny Davis, William Taylor
Typography [Lettering] – Joe Garnett, Ron Criss
Written-By – Isaac Hayes

Release of this album: 1976 [LP ABC Records, Cat.# ABCD-925, USA]
Release of this HDtracks edition: 2016 [Label: Stax Records]
Originally Released 1976. (c) 1976 (p) 2016 Concord Music Group, Inc.


01. "Groove-A-Thon" (09:50)
02. "Your Loving Is Much Too Strong" (05:42)
03. "Rock Me Easy Baby" (08:17)
04. "We've Got A Whole Lot Of Love" (05:41)
05. "Wish You Were Here (You Ought To Be Here)" (05:54)
06. "Make A Little Love To Me" (06:17)

All songs written by Isaac Hayes.

Recorded and remixed at Hot Buttered Soul Recording Studio, Memphis, Tennessee.
Mastered at ABC Recording Studios, Inc.

Isaac Hayes - Groove-A-Thon (1976) [2016] [HDtracks]

Part 1 | Part 2

password: BlondStyle

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1288 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Isaac Hayes - Chocolate Chip (1975) [2016] [HDtracks]
  • Isaac Hayes - The Isaac Hayes Movement [1970] (2016) [HDtracks]
  • Isaac Hayes - Hotbed (1978)
  • Isaac Hayes - Hot Buttered Soul (1969/1987)
  • Isaac Hayes - Tough Guys (1974)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?