Lossless music download

Mariss Jansons - Dvorak: Stabat Mater (2016)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 3-03-2017, 09:40
Mariss Jansons - Dvorak: Stabat Mater (2016)
Artist: Mariss Jansons
Title Of Album: Dvorak: Stabat Mater
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: BR Klassik
Country: Germany
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (image + .cue, log, booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 77:55 min
Full Size: 315 MB


01. Nr. 1 Quartett und Chor: Stabat mater dolorosa. Andante con moto
02. Nr. 2 Quartett: Quis est homo, qui non fleret. Andante sostenuto
03. Nr. 3 Chor: Eja, meter, fone amoris. Andante con moto
04. Nr. 4 Bass-Solo und Chor: Fac, ut ardeat cor meum. Largo
05. Nr. 5 Chor: Tui nati vulnerati. Andante con moto, quasi allegretto
06. Nr. 6 Tenor-Solo und Chor: Fac me vere tecum flere. Andante con moto
07. Nr. 7 Chor: Virgo virginum praeclara. Largo
08. Nr. 8 Duo (Sopran und Tenor): Fac ut portem Christi mortem. Larghetto
09. Nr. 9 Alt-Solo: Inflammatus et accensus. Andante maestoso
10. Nr. 10 Quartett und Chor: Quando corpus morietur. Andante con moto

Antonin Dvorak's Stabat Mater, Op. 58, written in the aftermath of the deaths of three of his children, is a sober and powerful work, inexplicably neglected and unlike any other work of choral music from the 19th century. Perhaps most performances don't capture its full weight, but this live recording from the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under Mariss Jansons, does so. There are many deep pleasures here. The orchestra's choir is extraordinary: rich yet without a hint of wobble and utterly clear in its sense of the text. Jansons keeps things at a deliberate pace that lets the music breathe and the currents of personal experience rise to the surface. The soloists, none terribly well known, are fine in their individual numbers, but absolutely transcendent in ensembles, nowhere more so that in the sublime "Quando corpus morietur" finale (track 10); there are a couple of other strong recordings of this work, but it seems likely that no one has ever matched this conclusion. The live recording from the Herkulessaal in Munich is impressively transparent and faithful to the spontaneity of the event. A superb Dvorak release. -- James Manheim

Download Mariss Jansons - Dvorak: Stabat Mater (2016)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 700 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Mariss Jansons & Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra - Tchaikovsky: The Symphonies ...
  • Anna Netrebko and Marianna Pizzolato - Stabat Mater: A Tribute to Pergolesi ...
  • Martin Lutz - There Is a Spell upon Your Lips (2015)
  • Haydn Joseph - Stabat Mater (Trevor Pinnock) (1990)
  • Salzburg Festival 2012 - Strauss, Wagner, Brahms - Mariss Jansons, Wiener P ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?