Lossless music download

Larry Coryell & The Eleventh House - January 1975 (2014)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 11-08-2017, 07:36
Larry Coryell & The Eleventh House - January 1975 (2014)
Artist: Larry Coryell & The Eleventh House
Title Of Album: January 1975
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Promising Music
Country: US
Genre: Jazz / Fusion
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 67:26 min
Full Size: 440 MB


01. Bird Fingers (2:49)
02. Diedra (4:27)
03. Gratitude ''A So Low'' (2:59)
04. Low Lee Tah (6:36)
05. Funky Waltz (6:13)
06. Suite (Entrance/Repose/Exit) (11:01)
07. Julie La Belle (5:52)
08. The Other Side (7:13)
09. Tamari (3:10)
10. Untitled Thoughts (7:12)
11. Adam Smasher (6:32)
12. The Eleventh House Blues (3:22)

In the 1970s, Germany's Radio Bremen simulcast a series of modern jazz concerts from all across the spectrum, and wisely archived them. Record producer Consul Bodo Jacoby was looking for a new project after losing the rights to reissue the MPS catalog and recalled them. His Promising Music label is issuing a number of these vintage performances in what he calls the Livelove series, of which January 1975 is the first volume. This date, captured via mobile truck by the engineers of the radio station, features Larry Coryell & the Eleventh House in full flight, between the band's debut album Introducing the Eleventh House and its sophomore offering, Level One. It is the lineup from the latter record performing here. Trumpeter Michael Lawrence replaces Randy Brecker, and bassist John Lee takes over from Danny Trifan. Keyboardist Mike Mandel and drummer Alphonse Mouzon are mainstays with Coryell. While this is most certainly jazz rock fusion, it is decidedly more on the jazz tip than most of what falls under the heading. Lawrence's trumpet and Coryell's guitar consistently cover the front line of compositions such as "Eleventh House Blues" which, despite the wah-wah blues-rock intro, walks a tough bop line. The sprawling "The Other Side" uses a tight head and middle eight before moving off into the galactic regions of fusion. Ballads such as "Diedra" showcase the kind of detailed lyricism this quintet was capable of. "Julie La Belle" is an unaccompanied acoustic guitar solo that reveals the depth of the influence Brazilian and Spanish masters have had in Coryell's style. But there are also tracks that flaunt their rock dynamics such as the brooding "Low Lee Tah," which erupts with Lawrence's bleating solo halfway through before being answered in call and response by Coryell on the highwire. Mandel's Rhodes playing on "Suite (Entrance/Repose/Exit)" is the unexpected anchor here, creating space as well as harmonic and chromatic intrigue. The rhythm section doesn't so much hold down the fray as push it forward into white heat -- check Lee's intense conversation with Lawrence at the midpoint before Coryell reenters. Mouzon is on fire throughout. This is a stunning show, on par with anything by Mahavishnu Orchestra or Return to Forever; more rooted in jazz. If January 1975 is any indication of the performance quality of this vault series, there is much to celebrate. -- Thom Jurek

Download Larry Coryell & The Eleventh House - January 1975 (2014)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 821 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Larry Coryell - Planet End (1975)
  • Larry Coryell & Philip Catherine - Twin House (1992)
  • Larry Coryell - The Coryells (2000)
  • Larry Coryell / Alphonse Mouzon - Back Together Again 1977 (2002)
  • Larry Coryell - Larry Coryell & The 11th House at Montreux (1974)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?