Lossless music download

The Saints - Scarce Saints: Hymns of Oblivion 1977-1981(1989)

Alternative, Rock, Punk | Author: artmuss | 16-03-2017, 11:03
The Saints - Scarce Saints: Hymns of Oblivion 1977-1981(1989)Artist: The Saints
Title Of Album: Scarce Saints: Hymns of Oblivion 1977-1981
Year Of Release: 1989
Label (Catalog#): Raven Records [RVCD-04]
Country: Australia
Genre: Alternative Rock, Garage Rock, Punk Rock
Quality: FLAC (tracks, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:14:42
Full Size: 484 mb

KATHLEEN C. FENNESSY: A cornucopia of choice rarities (B-sides, bonus singles, etc.), Scarce Saints covers several years (1977-1984), several lineups (including the seminal combo of Chris Bailey/Ed Kuepper/Ivor Hay/Kym Bradshaw), and two countries (Australia and the U.K.). Half the tracks are live (11-20), and for those keeping score at home, Kuepper, who would exit the band (acrimoniously) around the time of the final amazing EMI recording (Prehistoric Sounds), plays on tracks one through four and 11. Punked-up femme-fronted classics 'Lipstick on Your Collar' (Connie Francis) and 'River Deep-Mountain High' (Ike and Tina Turner), originally featured on the One-Two-Three-Four EP, actually became less scarce once included as bonus tracks with 1977's (I'm) Stranded. Same with the goofy -- in a good way -- 'Do the Robot,' added to the following year's Eternally Yours. (It's worth noting that Aussie legends the Easybeats preceded the Saints in covering 'River Deep' back in the late '60s, which isn't to take anything away from the excellent version here.) The collection, as a whole, is a must for the Saintsaholic. Surely there are far worse addictions than the sound of Chris Bailey's bluesy voice or Ed Kuepper's virtuosic guitar playing.

SAINTS.COM: The Scarce Saints album includes almost a full side of material from a live show at Dingwall's in London around this time. It includes versions of 'Know Your Product', 'No Time' and 'Kissin' Cousins', songs from the days of the EMI-era band that are played in a very different style from the originals. They still rock, but it's a rock-and-roll sort of rock as opposed to a buzzsaw punk kind of rock. The track 'On The Waterfront' (from the Paralytic ep) almost out-kicks 'Know Your Product' in this set. There's also a nice version of 'Gypsy Woman', which had been the flip of 'Let's Pretend'. All these tracks are stripped of horns and have pretty strong guitar playing throughout; it's a very odd counterpoint to the early band.


Studio Tracks
1 River Deep, Mountain High 3:42
2 Lipstick On Your Collar 2:29
3 L-I-E-S 2:01
4 Do The Robot 2:37
5 (Don't Send Me) Roses I 3:50
6 On The Waterfront 3:20
7 Call It Mine 4:50
8 Gypsy Woman 2:55
9 Heavy Metal 2:58
10 (Don't Send Me) Roses II 6:33

Concert Tracks
11 Nights In Venice 6:07
12 Know Your Product 3:25
13 On The Waterfront (Extended Version) 5:43
14 No Time 3:15
15 Kissin' Cousins 2:24
16 Gypsy Woman/Hit The Road Jack 4:10
17 Simple Love 4:11
18 Security 2:47
19 (I'm) Stranded 3:53
20 The Prisoner 3:31

Tracks 11-20 recorded live:
11- at Paddington Hall, Sydney, 1977
12-17 at Dingwalls, London, 1981
18,19 at the Gibus Club, Paris, 1981
20 in Scandinavia, 1984

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1655 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Saints - Wild About You 1976-1978: Complete Studio Recordings [2CD Rema ...
  • All Saints - Red Flag (2016)
  • David Bowie - All Saints: Collected Instrumentals 1977-99 (2001)
  • Whitesnake - Saints & Sinners (1982)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?