Lossless music download

Houston Person - Broken Windows, Empty Hallways (2004)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 16-03-2017, 21:15
Houston Person - Broken Windows, Empty Hallways (2004)
Artist: Houston Person
Title Of Album: Broken Windows, Empty Hallways
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Prestige
Country: US
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue, log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 70:40 min
Full Size: 435 MB


01. I Think It's Going To Rain Today (6:13)
02. Don't Mess With Bill (3:11)
03. Everything's Alright (4:31)
04. Mr. Bojangles (4:07)
05. Houston's Blues (6:25)
06. Imagine (5:05)
07. Let's Call This (4:13)
08. The Pimp (Bleeker Street) (4:14)
09. A Song For You (4:39)
10. The Trouble With Hello Is Goodbye (4:05)
11. Scared To Be Alone (4:18)
12. Sweet Buns And Barbeque (3:08)
13. This Masquerade (6:22)
14. Down Here On The Ground (3:48)
15. Put It Where You Want It (3:15)
16. Groove Thang (3:06)

It's hard to know what to think when jazz artists record popular songs. Are they recording them because they like the songs and think something new can be brought to them? Or are they hoping that by recording popular songs they too can become popular? Broken Windows, Empty Hallways includes two albums recorded by tenor Houston Person in 1972, the first of the same name and the second titled Sweet Buns & Barbeque. Both albums contain a number of songs that were popular at the time, from the soulful "Don't Mess With Bill" to John Lennon's "Imagine" to Webber-Rice's "Everything's Alright." A large cast helps out on both albums, including notables like bassist Ron Carter and guitarist Joe Beck. However, the talented cast members never really get a chance to let their hair down. "Imagine," for instance, is presented in a straightforward, unimaginative fashion with Person mostly sticking to the melody line. In other words, many of the songs here sound like an early form of easy listening or smooth jazz, though not nearly as cloying. Person does insert other oddities like Thelonious Monk's "Let's Call This" into the program, but his commitment to the material remains lukewarm. Broken Windows, Empty Hallways is finally an album for people who like jazzy sounding instrumentals, but don't really like jazz. -- Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr

Download Houston Person - Broken Windows, Empty Hallways (2004)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1396 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Houston Person & Ron Carter - Chemistry (2016)
  • Houston Person - The Melody Lingers On (2014)
  • Houston Person with Bill Charlap - You Taught My Heart To Sing (2006)
  • Houston Person With Ron Carter - Just Between Friends (2008)
  • Houston Person - Goodness! (1969)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?