Lossless music download

Betty Davis - They Say I'm Different (1974) [Reissue 2007]

Blues Rock, Jazz, Blues | Author: artmuss | 14-04-2017, 15:34
Betty Davis - They Say I'm Different (1974) [Reissue 2007]Artist: Betty Davis
Title Of Album: They Say I'm Different
Year Of Release: 2007 [1974]
Label (Catalog#): Light In The Attic [LITA 027]
Country: United States
Genre: Soul, Funk, Blues Rock
Quality: FLAC (*tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 52:02
Full Size: 506 mb

Betty Davis' second full-length featured a similar set of songs as her debut, though with Davis herself in the production chair and a radically different lineup. The openers, "Shoo-B-Doop and Cop Him" and "He Was a Big Freak," are big, blowsy tunes with stop-start funk rhythms and Davis in her usual persona as the aggressive sexual predator. On the title track, she reminisces about her childhood and compares herself to kindred spirits of the past, a succession of blues legends she holds fond -- including special time for Bessie Smith, Chuck Berry, and Robert Johnson. A pair of unknowns, guitarist Cordell Dudley and bassist Larry Johnson, do a fair job of replacing the stars from her first record. As a result, They Say I'm Different is more keyboard-dominated than her debut, with prominent electric piano, clavinet, and organ from Merl Saunders, Hershall Kennedy, and Tony Vaughn. The material was even more extreme than on her debut; "He Was a Big Freak" featured a prominent bondage theme, while "Your Mama Wants Ya Back" and "Don't Call Her No Tramp" dealt with prostitution, or at least inferred it. With the exception of the two openers, though, They Say I'm Different lacked the excellent songs and strong playing of her debut; an explosive and outr? record, but more a variation on the same theme she'd explored before.


1 Shoo-B-Doop And Cop Him (3:57)
2 He Was A Big Freak (4:07)
3 Your Mama Wants Ya Back (3:27)
4 Don't Call Her No Tramp (4:06)
5 Git In There (4:46)
6 They Say I'm Different (4:14)
7 70's Blues (5:01)
8 Special People (3:22)

9 He Was A Big Freak (Record Plant Rough Mix) (4:43)
10 Don't Call Her No Tramp (Record Plant Rough Mix) (4:37)
11 Git In There (Record Plant Rough Mix) (4:38)
12 70's Blues (Record Plant Rough Mix) (5:02)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 713 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Mahalia Barnes & The Soul Mates - Ooh Yea!: The Betty Davis Songbook (feat. ...
  • Tramp - Put A Record On (1974)
  • Betty Davis - Anti-love: The Best of Betty Davis (2000)
  • Betty Davis - This Is It! (2005)
  • Betty Davis - They Say I'm Different (1974) [Remastering 2007]

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?