Lossless music download

John Lenehan, Julian Lloyd Webber & Jiaxin Cheng - Delius & Ireland: Evening Songs (2012)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 21-04-2017, 13:52
John Lenehan, Julian Lloyd Webber & Jiaxin Cheng - Delius & Ireland: Evening Songs (2012)
Artist: John Lenehan, Julian Lloyd Webber & Jiaxin Cheng
Title Of Album: Delius & Ireland: Evening Songs
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Naxos
Country: EU
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 63:25 min
Full Size: 244 MB


01. Frederick Delius (1862-1934): Sunset (2:38)
02. John Ireland (1879-1962): Spring Sorrow (3:49)
03. Delius: Birds in the High Hall Garden (6:30)
04. Ireland: Evening Song (2:50)
05. Delius: In the Seraglio Garden (3:17)
06. Delius: Love's Philosophy (3:21)
07. Ireland: Sea Fever (3:09)
08. Delius: Over the Mountains High (2:22)
09. Ireland: The Holy Boy (2:59)
10. Delius: Serenade from Hassan (4:17)
11. Delius: Through Long, Long Years (4:16)
12. Ireland: Baby (2:07)
13. Ireland: The Three Ravens (4:20)
14. Delius: Little Birdie (1:44)
15. Ireland: Hope (1:34)
16. Ireland: Ladslove (2:38)
17. Delius: Slumber Song (2:39)
18. Ireland: Summer Schemes (2:23)
19. Delius: With Your Blue Eyes (1:41)
20. Ireland: Her Song (3:15)
21. Ireland: In Summer Woods (1:37)

Frederick Delius’s beautiful songs show his extraordinary gift for melody. John Ireland admired Delius enormously and his songs are inspired by a wide variety of literature, including his hugely popular setting of John Masefield’s Sea Fever. Renowned cellist Julian Lloyd Webber celebrates both composers’ remarkable melodic gifts in these sensitive arrangements, and pianist John Lenehan has received great acclaim for his Naxos recordings of Ireland’s complete piano music.

This recording revives a tradition which was common at the beginning of the last century, arranging the best of vocal music for instruments, of which the singing voice of the cello is one of the best suited. The performing cast here is something of a dream team. Julian Lloyd Webber’s large following will take little persuasion to explore his playing on this beautiful CD, and he is joined both by his cellist wife Jiaxin Cheng and Ireland expert John Lenehan, whose recordings include the Gramophone awardwinning Michael Nyman Piano Concerto (8554168).

Julian Lloyd Webber is one of today’s leading cellists. He has given the premieres of more than fifty new works for cello and has inspired new compositions from composers as diverse as Malcolm Arnold and Joaquin Rodrigo to James MacMillan and Philip Glass. His partnership with John Lenehan began in the mid-1970s and they have since given recitals together all over the world. “…the doyen of British cellists” The Strad

Download John Lenehan, Julian Lloyd Webber & Jiaxin Cheng - Delius & Ireland: Evening Songs (2012)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 652 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Andrew Lloyd Webber - Variations (1978)
  • Julian Lloyd Webber - Encore!: Travels with My Cello, Vol.2 (1986)
  • Kate Bush - Never For Ever 1980 (Vinyl Rip 24/192)
  • VA - The Best Of Ireland (2012)
  • Sin?ad O’Connor – How About I Be Me (And You Be You)? (2012)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?