Lossless music download

Stephen Hough - Hummel: Piano Sonatas (2003)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 28-04-2017, 15:24
Stephen Hough - Hummel: Piano Sonatas (2003)
Artist: Stephen Hough
Title Of Album: Hummel: Piano Sonatas
Year Of Release: 2003
Label: Hyperion
Country: UK
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 69:18 min
Full Size: 215 MB


01. Allero
02. Largo Con Molt'espressione
03. Vivace
04. Allegro Moderato, Ma Risoluto
05. Un Scherzo All'antico: Allegro, Ma Non Troppo
06. Larghetto A Capriccio
07. Allegro Vivace
08. Allegro Moderato
09. Adagio Maestoso
10. Presto

Hummel was a favorite pupil of Mozart and a serious rival to Beethoven both as pianist and composer. Overrated in his day, he is unjustly forgotten in ours. Hough has already proven his Hummel credentials with a ground-breaking recording of two Piano Concertos on Chandos in their extremely difficult original versions. Hummel's Sonatas may not compare with Beethoven's in their concision or profundity, but they are still fascinating, prototypes of the coming Romantic era and full of imagination and invention. This music has all been recorded before, but never with the kind of panache Hough brings to it. Some of the passages in fast movements sound as though two pianists are playing them, but it's all Hough, proving what the MacArthur Foundation said about him when they awared him one of their "genius grants." If you don't know Hummel at all, the Concertos may be an even better introduction to his music, but this is also a highly impressive sample of his best work. -- Leslie Gerber

Download Stephen Hough - Hummel: Piano Sonatas (2003)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 771 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Academy of St. Martin in the Fields & Hakan Hardenberger & Sir Neville Marr ...
  • Stephen Hough - Johannes Brahms: The Piano Concertos (2013) [HDTracks]
  • Stephen Hough, Dallas Symphony Orchestra - S. Rachmaninov: Complete Works f ...
  • Alison Balsom - Haydn. Hummel - Trumpet Concertos (2008)
  • Richter & Rostropovich - Beethoven: The Sonatas for Piano and Cello (1963)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?