Lossless music download

David Grisman Trio - FolkJazz (2012) [2017] [HDTracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Jazz, Folk | Author: vicor 61 | 16-04-2018, 00:07
David Grisman Trio - FolkJazz (2012) [2017] [HDTracks]
Artist: David Grisman Trio
Title Of Album: FolkJazz
Year Of Release: 2017 (2012)
Label (Catalog#): Acoustic Disc
Country: USA
Genre: Country, Bluegrass, Folk-jazz
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,front)
Bitrate: Lossless [24Bit/96kHz]
Time: 57:45
Full Size: 1,20 GB

AllMusic Review by Ken Dryden:
David Grisman's musical interests have been so varied that he is impossible to categorize stylistically, one of the reasons he has long described his playing everywhere as "Dawg Music." This is a bit of an unusual outing, as it consists of a trio with bluegrass/folk guitarist/vocalist Jim Hurst, Grisman (mostly on mandolin), and his son Samson on bass. Hurst has previously covered Roger Rasnake's "Cold Hard Business" and this version features his strong vocal and potent solos all around. The deliberate Latin-flavored "Vaya con Dios" was a hit for Les Paul & Mary Ford and also covered by Mel Torm?, Nat King Cole, and numerous vocalists, though the trio tackles it as an intimate instrumental. "Sally Ann" is a decades-old traditional favorite of bluegrass pickers; the trio's interpretation seems effortless and Samson Grisman does a splendid job playing with the two veterans. Hurst and Grisman share the vocals in the traditional sorrowful country ballad "Mary of the Wild Moor," while Samson take the lead vocal in a potent version of the late John Hartford's "I Wish We Had Our Time Again." Stephen Foster's "Beautiful Dreamer" is one of his best-loved songs; Grisman's shimmering mandolin lead stands out in this performance. The rest of the CD is equally strong, and the only shortcoming of the album is the omission of composer credits, as both musicians and fans may want to seek out earlier recordings of tunes unfamiliar to them for comparison. Highly recommended.


01. East Tennessee Blues (2:42)
02. Cold Hard Business (4:33)
03. Vaya Con Dios (5:34)
04. I Wish We Had Our Times Again (2:51)
05. Swang Thang (3:31)
06. Lorena (5:14)
07. Noche Romantica (5:21)
08. Cypress Grove (4:59)
09. Windy And Warm (2:45)
10. Sails (3:03)
11. Sally Ann (2:24)
12. Mary Of The Wild Moor (4:26)
13. The Bell's Of St. Mary's (2:55)
14. Through The Country (4:06)
15. Beautiful Dreamer (3:20)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1176 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Jerry Garcia & David Grisman - Garcia-Grisman (1991) [2014 SACD]
  • John Sebastian, David Grisman - Satisfied (2007) [HDTracks]
  • David Grisman & Tony Rice - Tone Poems (1994)
  • David Grisman & Martin Taylor - Tone Poems II (1995)
  • David Grisman Quintet - Dawganova (1995)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?