Lossless music download

Kim Salmon & The Business - Record (1999)

Alternative, Rock, Indie | Author: artmuss | 8-06-2017, 23:09
Kim Salmon & The Business - Record (1999)Artist: Kim Salmon & The Business
Title Of Album: Record
Year Of Release: 1999
Label (Catalog#): Half A Cow Records [Hac 86]
Country: Australia
Genre: Alternative, Indie Rock
Quality: FLAC (*tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 58:30
Full Size: 461 mb
WebSite: Album Preview

“This album was a change of tack for Kim Salmon, an album of finely crafted melodic pop songs. Damn good pop songs at that. Might come as a shock to some, and probably won't please those who love it hard and heavy, but this really is a mighty fine record.” Rising Above The Bedlam

The first record from Kim Salmon’s next project after the Surrealists was Record by Kim Salmon and the Business. Stu Thomas remained on bass, and a slew of different brass players (sax and trumpet) and drummers came through the band.

The album was released on 25 October 1999, and was Feature Album Of The Week on Triple J. The first single from the album "Saving Me From Me" was released on Monday 20 September 1999. Also included is the track "Caesar's Lament" and a cover of the Dudley Moore tune "Love Me" (from the movie Bedazzled). A second single "Disconnected" was released 13 March 2000 featuring two remixes by Mr Chill, Gary B and Justin Frew. The original press blurb that accompanied “Disconnected” stated:

‘ Track 1 from Record. On “Disconnected” Kim connects with Ben Green from High Pass Filter. He also reconnects with Antenna by getting Mr Chill and Justin Frew each to provide a separate subVersion/perVersion of this same song that will have you wondering if your brain has been disconnected and replaced with someone else's, although it will still be your brain, just a new connection with a less fuzzy image of Kim Salmon circa 2000.


01 - What's All This Business?
02 - Saving Me From Me
03 - Disconnected
04 - Share It
05 - Don't Fake It
06 - Anticipation
07 - Nothing Can Go Wrong
08 - I'll Be Around
09 - Give Me Some Notes Mike
10 - Emperor's New Clothes
11 - New Kind of Angle
12 - Behave Yourself
13 - IOU
14 - Caesar's Lament

Vocals – Kim Salmon (tracks: 2 to 8, 10 to 13)
Guitar – Kim Salmon
Bass – Stuart Thomas
Drums – Greg Bainbridge
Tenor Saxophone – Michael Redman (2) (tracks: 1, 2, 3, 5 to 14)
Trumpet – Leon De Bruin (tracks: 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8 to 12, 14)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 316 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Kim Salmon & The Surrealists - Sin Factory [2CD] (1993)
  • Beasts Of Bourbon - From The Belly Of The Beasts [2CD] (1993)
  • Kim Salmon & Spencer P. Jones - Runaways (2013)
  • Kim Salmon - My Script (2015)
  • Leftover Salmon - 2016-07-23 Red Rocks Amphitheatre, Morrison, CO (2016)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?