Lossless music download

Esther Phillips - Original Album Series [5CD Box Set] (2016)

Jazz, Blues | Author: artmuss | 21-06-2019, 00:18
Esther Phillips - Original Album Series [5CD Box Set] (2016)Artist: Esther Phillips
Title Of Album: Original Album Series
Year Of Release: 2016
Label (Catalog#): Rhino Records [0081227947705]
Country: United States
Genre: Jazz, Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues, Vocal
Quality: FLAC (*tracks +.cue,log,digital booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 3:04:44
Full Size: 1.01 gb

Esther Phillips' six-year tenure at Atlantic Records in the 1960s has often been a overlooked phase in the Texas singer's career, playing second fiddle to the chanteuse's incredibly successful and fertile spell at CTI's Kudu imprint in the '70s. While no one in their right mind would question the potency of her Kudu oeuvre and say that it's inferior to what she did at Atlantic - it patently isn't - what she recorded for Ahmet Ertegun's company between 1965 and 1970 shouldn't be dismissed as inconsequential or of little value. For those ignorant of Esther's Atlantic work, this commendable packet of five from Rhino (with each album attired in a mini-replica LP sleeve) is a handy and affordable reminder of her achievements.

After scoring a string of charting R&B hits in the early '50s as 'Little Esther,' the teenage gal from Galveston fell into drug addiction. At the Lenox indie label in the early '60s, however, Esther revived her ailing career and reinvented herself as a grown-up singer, scoring a US R&B chart topper with her rendition of the country tune, 'Release Me' (later a UK hit for UK 'easy' crooner, Engelbert Humperdinck). Following this, she was snapped up by Atlantic and her first long player for the label, 'And I Love Him,' kicks off this compendium. The title track is Esther's distaff spin on Lennon & McCartney's immortal tune from The Beatles' 'A Hard Day's Night' album (the Fab Four were big fans of hers, incidentally), and was a US R&B hit. For those expecting the blue funk and gritty soul of her Kudu period, this album's easy listening proclivities (the material includes movie songs, jazz standards and bossa novas) might disappoint though Esther's vocals - sharp as a razor and bitter as a lemon and suffused with great soulfulness - are exceptional, giving limp lounge arrangements with schmaltzy strings a piquant twist (imagine garnishing a plate of blancmange with a Scotch Bonnet chilli and you'll get an idea of how Esther's fiery vocals seem at odds with the pallid arrangements).

1966 saw two Esther LPs on Atlantic - 'The Country Side Of Esther,' which included a new version of 'Release Me' and some great twists on Nashville/C&W repertoire, and 'Esther Phillips Sings.' The latter featured arrangements by Oliver Nelson among others and is much more jazz-oriented than her previous Atlantic releases, containing big band versions of 'It's All Right With Me,' 'Let There Be Love,' and 'A Taste Of Honey,' plus a boss nova-flavoured 'The Shadow Of Your Smile,' and some expressive ballads.

As versatile as she was, Esther Phillips' real forte was singing the blues and on her next album, 'Burnin',' a combustible live set recorded in Los Angeles and released in 1970, she showed her true mettle. Backed by a band led by King Curtis, with Richard Tee on keys and Chuck Rainey on bass, she's in irresistible form - sassy, sexy, and supremely soulful, especially on sensual readings of her hits 'And I Love Him' and 'Release Me.'

Esther's fifth and final Atlantic LP, 'Confessin' The Blues,' also released in 1976, contains outtakes from the 'Burnin'' album - which appeared on side two of 'Confessin'' - and some studio sides where the singer is backed by a big band with charts by Onzy Matthews. She's in her element here and sounds more comfortable with this material (which includes the blues songs 'I Wonder,' C.C. Rider,' and 'Cherry Red') than on some of her earlier Atlantic albums.

Though Esther Phillips' Atlantic recordings aren't as satisfying or consistent as her CTI offerings of the '70s there's nevertheless a lot to appreciate here - and anyone who shows just a glimmer of interest in the life and work of the singer born Esther Mae Jones will find this set illuminating.


And I Love Him! (1965)
1. And I Love Him
2. 'Tis Autumn
3. Shangri-La
4. Moonglow & Theme From Picnic
5. Out Of The Blue
6. People
7. Makin' Whoopie
8. Girl From Ipanema
9. I Wish You Love
10. If You Love Me, Really Love Me
11. Too Soon To Know
12. Make Believe Dreams

The Country Side Of Esther Phillips (1966)
1. I Really Don't Want To Know
2. Just Out Of Reach
3. I Can't Help It
4. Be Honest With Me
5. I've Forgotten More That You'll Ever Know About Him
6. Release Me
7. I'd Fight The World
8. Am I That Easy To Forget
9. After Loving You
10. No Headstone On My Grave
11. Why Should We Try Anymore

Esther Phillips Sings (1966)
1. It's All Right With Me
2. The Shadow Of Your Smile
3. Crazy He Calls Me
4. He Touched Me
5. A Taste Of Honey
6. Let There Be Love
7. You Can't Go Home Again
8. Just Say Goodbye
9. I Could Have Told You So
10. Every Time We Say Goodbye
11. As Tears Go By
12. The Party's Over

Burnin': Live At Freddie Jett's Pied Piper Club, L.A. (1970)
1. Don't Let Me Lose This Dream
2. And I Love him
3. Cry Me A River Blues
4. I'm Gettin' 'Long Alright
5. Release Me
6. Makin' Whoopie
7. It It's The Last Thing I Do
8. Shangri-La
9. Please Send Me Someone To Love

Confessin' The Blues (1976)
1. I'm Gettin' 'Long Alright
2. I Wonder
3. Confessin' The Blues
4. Romance In The Dark
5. C.C. Rider
6. Cherry Red
7. In The Evenin'
8. I Love Paris
9. It Could Happen To You
10. Bye Bye Blackbird
11. Blow Top Blues/Jelly Jelly Blues/Long John Blues



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 2552 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Esther Phillips - The Best Of Esther Phillips 1962-1970 [2 CD] (1997)
  • Esther Phillips - And I Love Him / Esther (1999)
  • Esther Phillips - Burnin' - Live At Freddie Jett's Pied Piper Club, L.A. ...
  • Esther Phillips - Burnin' & Confessin' the Blues (1998)
  • Esther Phillips - Country Side of Esther / Set Me Free (2001)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?