Lossless music download

The Marvelettes - Forever: The Complete Motown Albums Vol. 1 [Remastered Limited Edition] (2009)

Pop | Author: artmuss | 2-09-2019, 19:03
The Marvelettes - Forever: The Complete Motown Albums Vol. 1 [Remastered Limited Edition] (2009)Artist: The Marvelettes
Title Of Album: Forever: The Complete Motown Albums Vol. 1
Year Of Release: 2009
Label (Catalog#): Hip-O Select [B0011516-02]
Country: United States
Genre: R&B, Soul, Pop
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (*tracks +.cue,log)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 3:44:56
Full Size: 893 mb

Hip-O Select's 2009 triple-disc set Forever: The Complete Motown Albums, Vol. 1 rounds up all the LPs the Marvelettes released between 1961 and 1963 -- 1961's Please Mr. Postman, The Marvelettes Sing, and Playboy both released in 1962, 1963's The Marvelous Marvelettes, and On Stage: Recorded Live -- plus the stereo version of 1966's Greatest Hits and a bunch of mono singles and rarities. The Vol. 1 in the set signals that the Marvelettes had a second run at Motown later in the decade, highlighted by the this "The Hunter Gets Captured by the Game" and "My Baby Must Be a Magician," but this has everything from the band's prime period, running from 1961 to 1965, the time when they rivaled the Supremes as the greatest girl group Motown had to offer. That rivalry wasn't merely commercial but creative, too, with their very best singles -- "Please Mr. Postman," "Beechwood 4-5789," "Too Many Fish in the Sea," "Danger: Heartbreak Dead Ahead" -- holding their own with the Supremes, but the revelation of Forever: The Complete Motown Albums, Vol. 1 is that the trio had a consistent catalog, sounding beguiling when they covered hits by Clyde McPhatter ("Lover Please") and Roy Orbison ("Dream Baby") and benefiting tremendously from Motown's deep songwriting bench, cutting lots of tunes from Smokey Robinson, Norman Whitfield, Brian Holland, and Lamont Dozier and Berry Gordy, many of them never turning into hits but existing as strong examples of the label's craft. If anything, this set is a testament to the power of Motown's assembly line, with the writers, producers, and musicians working steadily, always attempting to better their last effort, always blessed by the harmonies and the charisma of the Marvelettes, a group that may have lacked the magnetism of the Supremes but compensated by their girl-next-door charm, something that shines through all three discs of this set.


Please Mr. Postman
1. Angel
2. I Want A Guy
3. Please Mr. Postman
4. So Long Baby
5. I Know How It Feels
6. Way Over There
7. Happy Days
8. You Don't Want Me No More
9. All The Love I've Got
10. Whisper
11. Oh I Apologize

The Marvelettes Sing
12. Mashed Potato Time
13. Love Letters
14. The One Who Really Loves You
15. Twistin' The Night Away
16. Hey Baby
17. Twistin' Postman
18. Good Luck Charm
19. Slow Twistin'
20. Lover Please
21. Dream Baby

22. Playboy
23. Mix It Up
24. Beechwood 4-5789
25. I'm Hooked
26. I Think I Can Change You
27. Forever
28. Someday, Someway
29. Goddess Of Love
30. You Should Know
31. (I've Got To) Cry Over You

The Marvelous Marvelettes
1. Strange I Know
2. I Forgot About You
3. Locking Up My Heart
4. Which Way Did He Go
5. Silly Boy
6. It's Gonna Take A Lot Of Doing (To Undo All The Damage That You've Done)
7. Smart Aleck
8. My Daddy Knows Best
9. Too Strong To Be Strung Along
10. Why Must You Go

On Stage: Recorded Live
11. Beechwood 4-5789
12. Strange I Know
13. Someday Someway
14. Locking Up My Heart
15. Twistin' Postman
16. Tossin' And Turnin'
17. So Long Baby
18. Playboy

Bonus Tracks
19. Strange I Know
20. Medley: Please Mr. Postman/Strange I Know/Someday, Someway
21. Tie A String Around Your Finger
22. Too Hurt To Cry, Too Much In Love To Say Goodbye
23. Come On Home - The Darnells
24. Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers
25. Knock On My Door
26. On The Other Side Of Town
27. Because I Love Him
28. Little Girls Grow Up

Greatest Hits (Stereo Version)
1. Don't Mess With Bill
2. You're My Remedy
3. Locking Up My Heart
4. As Long As I Know He's Mine
5. Too Many Fish In The Sea
6. Danger Heartbreak Dead Ahead
7. Please Mr. Postman
8. Playboy
9. Strange I Know
10. Forever
11. Twistin' Postman
12. Beechwood 4-5789

Mono Singles & Rare Sides
13. As Long As I Know He's Mine
14. He Won't Be True (Little Girl Blue)
15. He's A Good Guy (Yes He Is)
16. You're My Remedy
17. A Little Bit Of Sympathy, A Little Bit Of Love
18. Too Many Fish In The Sea
19. A Need For Love
20. I'll Keep Holding On
21. No Time For Tears
22. Danger Heartbreak Dead Ahead
23. Your Cheating Ways
24. Don't Mess With Bill
25. Anything You Wanna Do
26. I Should Have Known Better
27. I Just Can't Let Him Down
28. Maybe I Dried My Tears For The Last Time



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1469 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Marvelettes - Ultimate Collection (1998)
  • VA - Finders Keepers Motown Girls 1961-67 (2013)
  • The Marvelettes - Forever More: The Complete Motown Albums Vol. 2 (2011)
  • The Marvelettes - Deliver: The Singles 1961-1971 (1993)
  • The Marvelettes - 23 Greatest Hits (1986)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?