Lossless music download

Daniel Behle, Armonia Atenea & George Petrou - Gluck: Opera Arias (2014)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 26-07-2019, 13:48
Daniel Behle, Armonia Atenea & George Petrou - Gluck: Opera Arias (2014)
Artist: Daniel Behle, Armonia Atenea & George Petrou
Title Of Album: Gluck: Opera Arias
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Decca
Country: Germany
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*tracks+ .cue, log, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 63:59 min
Full Size: 352 MB


01. Quercia annosa sull erte pendici
02. Io veggo in lontananza
03. Non hai cor per un impresa
04. Se povero il ruscello
05. Bel piacer saria d un
06. Qual ira intempestiva
07. Oggi per me non sudi
08. Son lungi e non mi brami
09. Cruelle, non, jamais
10. J ai perdu mon Eurydice
11. Je cherirai, jusqu au trepas

Christoph Willibald Gluck has a place in the history books for a few big hits and for the idea of reforming the ornate style of opera seria -- serious opera -- in the 18th century, replacing it with a more natural ideal of melody. This reputation has rested on a very few pieces, and both bibliographic control and recorded explorations of Gluck's music are perhaps more sparse than for any other major composer. Accordingly, the major label Decca deserves commendation for this collection of Gluck arias, four of which receive their world premieres here. The album is roughly divided between the sort of pastoral melody exemplified by Gluck hits like the "Dance of the Blessed Spirits" from Orfeo ed Euridice and earlier works of a more vocally taxing nature. Behle may be a bit stronger in the latter: hear the fearless leap up to high B flat and the very delicate descent from the cliff in the aria "Io veggo in lontananza" from the opera Semiramide riconosciuta (track 2). But he is nowhere subpar, and he's very ably backed by the historical-instrument group Armonia Atenea under George Petrou. The overall effect is to give a much fuller picture of this composer than has been available previously, and the only complaint is hollow sound from an oversized Athenian concert hall. -- James Manheim

Daniel Behle, Armonia Atenea & George Petrou - Gluck: Opera Arias (2014)

Download Daniel Behle, Armonia Atenea & George Petrou - Gluck: Opera Arias (2014)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1018 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Ferdinand Leitner - Gluck: Orfeo ed Euridice (1995)
  • Serge Baudo - Gluck: Alceste (1982)
  • Johann Adolf Hasse: operas arias, M.E.Cencic - Rokoko, Armonia Atenea - Geo ...
  • Iestyn Davies, Arcangelo, Jonathan Cohen - Arias for Guadagni: Handel, Hass ...
  • Christoph Willibald Gluck - Gluck- Symphonies (2011)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?