Lossless music download

Marc Minkowski - Handel: Messiah (2001)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 2-11-2019, 17:18
Marc Minkowski - Handel: Messiah (2001)
Artist: Marc Minkowski & Les Musiciens Du Louvre
Title Of Album: Handel: Messiah
Year Of Release: 2001
Label: Archiv / Deutsche Grammophon
Country: France
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 02:02:56
Full Size: 543 MB


CD 1
Pt. 1
01. Symphony 3:12
02. "Comfort ye, My people" 3:02
03. "Ev'ry Valley shall be exalted" 3:01
04. "And The Glory Of The Lord" 2:04
05. "Thus saith the Lord" 1:16
06. "But who may abide the day of his coming" 4:10
07. "And He Shall Purify The Sons Of Levi" 2:13
08. "Behold, a virgin shall conceive" 0:21
09. "O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion" 2:59
10. 9. Chorus: O thou that tellest good tidings 1:17
11. "For behold, darkness shall cover" 1:37
12. "The people that walked in darkness" 2:54
13. "For Unto Us A Child Is Born" 3:28
14. Pifa (Pastoral Symphony) 2:34
15. "There were shepherds... And lo, the angel of the Lord...And the angel said unto them...And suddenly" 1:10
16. "Glory to God in the highest" 1:37
17. "Rejoice Greatly, O Daughter Of Zion" 3:43
18. "Then shall the eyes of the blind" 0:22
19. " He shall feed his flock" 5:22
20. "His Yoke Is Easy" 2:00

Pt. 2
01. "Behold The Lamb Of God" 3:40
02. "He Was Despised" 12:13
03. "Surely He hath borne...And with His stripes ...All we like sheep" 7:12
04. "All they that see Him" 0:39
05. "He trusted in God" 1:48
06. "Thy rebuke hath broken His heart" 2:08
07. "Behold and see" 1:59
08. "Behold, a virgin shall conceive" 0:21
09. "But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul In Hell" 1:46
10. "Lift Up Your Heads" 2:27
11. "How Beautiful Are The Feet" 3:49
12. "Why do the nations so furiously rage together?" 2:26
13. "Let us break their bonds asunder" 1:27
14. "He That Dwelleth In Heaven...Thou Shalt Break Them" 1:53
15. "Hallelujah" 3:01

Pt. 3
16. "I Know That My Redeemer Liveth" 6:10
17. "Since By Man Came Death" 1:50
18. "Behold, I tell you a mystery" 0:26
19. "The trumpet shall sound" 6:03
20. "Then shall be brought to pass" / "O death where is thy sting?" 1:05
21. "But Thanks Be To God" 1:53
22. "If God Be For Us" 4:00
23. "Worthy is the Lamb... Amen" 6:36

Marc Minkowski has led numerous outstanding Handel recordings, but he's up against stiff competition in Messiah. There are plenty of outstanding ones to suit all tastes, from Colin Davis's traditional performance on Philips to those of early-music specialists such as Hogwood, Suzuki, Christophers, and Pinnock. Minkowski is wildly original, and his version is unlike any other; it will intrigue some and anger many. He indulges in sharp tempo extremes and encourages his vocalists to emote in ways that some will find overdone. The result is exciting at times, but wearing at others, as in "He was despised." The Hallelujah Chorus lacks grandeur and "Let us break the bonds asunder" sounds frantic even as one admires the chorus's articulation at impossible speeds. Some of the soloists are quite good. Brian Asawa's sweet countertenor is a big plus, but some of his colleagues aren't up to their competitors on disc. A provocative Messiah, then, one collectors may want to supplement other, more compelling versions. -- Dan Davis

Marc Minkowski - Handel: Messiah (2001)

Download Marc Minkowski - Handel: Messiah (2001)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1099 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Neville Marriner & The Academy And Chorus Of St. Martin-In-The-Fields - Han ...
  • Dunedin Consort & John Butt - Handel: Messiah (Dublin Version, 1742) (2006)
  • Nikolaus Harnoncourt & Concentus Musicus Wien - Handel: Messiah (2005)
  • George Frideric Handel - Messiah (2013)
  • Emma Kirkby, Judith Nelson, Carolyn Watkinson, David Thomas, Paul Elliot, T ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?