Lossless music download

The Sixteen Choir And Orchestra & Harry Christophers - Handel: Messiah (1987)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 25-12-2017, 07:32
The Sixteen Choir And Orchestra & Harry Christophers - Handel: Messiah (1987)
Artist: The Sixteen Choir And Orchestra & Harry Christophers
Title Of Album: Handel: Messiah
Year Of Release: 1987
Label: Hyperion
Country: UK
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 02:21:06
Full Size: 649 MB


CD 1
Part 1
01 Symphony 3:09
02 Accompagnato (tenor): Comfort ye, my people 3:11
03 Air (tenor): Ev'ry valley shall be exalted 3:33
04 Chorus: And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed 3:00
05 Accompagnato (bass): Thus saith the Lord of Hosts 1:23
06 Air (alto): But who may abide? 4:24
07 Chorus: And he shall purify 2:29
08 Recit (alto): Behold a virgin shall conceive 0:30
09 Air (alto): and Chorus: O Thou that tellest good tidings to Zion 5:08
10 Accompagnato (bass): For behold, darkness shall cover the earth 2:35
11 Air (bass): The people that walked in darkness 3:15
12 Chorus: For unto us a child is born 4:01
13 Pastoral Symphony (Pifa) 2:51
14 Recit (soprano): There were shepherds abiding in the field 0:19
15 Accompagnato (soprano): And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them 0:22
16 Recit (soprano): And the angel said unto them: Fear not 0:31
17 Accompagnato (soprano): And suddenly there was the angel 0:16
18 Chorus: Glory to God in the highest 1:56
19 Air (soprano): Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion 4:10
20 Recit (alto): Then shall the eyes of the blind be opened 0:32
21 Air (alto and soprano): He shall feed His flock like a shepherd 5:38
22 Chorus: His yoke is easy and His burthen is light 2:19

Part 2
23 Chorus: Bhold the Lamb of God 3:08
24 Air (alto): He was despised and rejected of men 11:34

CD 2
01 Chorus: Surely He hath borne our griefs 1:58
02 Chorus: And with His stripes we are healed 1:51
03 Chorus: All we like sheep have gone astray 4:10
04 Accompagnato (tenor): All they that see Him laugh Him to scorn 0:49
05 Chorus: He trusted in God that He would deliver Him 2:19
06 Accompagnato (tenor): Thy rebuke hath broken His heart 2:04
07 Arioso (tenor): Behold and see if there be any sorrow 3:31
08 Accompagnato (tenor): He was cut off out of the land of the living 0:16
09 Air (tenor): But Thou didst not leave His soul in hell 2:20
10 Chorus: Lift up your heads, O ye gates 2:56
11 Recit (tenor): Unto which of the angels said He at any time 0:15
12 Chorus: Let all the angels of God worship Him 1:26
13 Air (alto): Thou aart gone up on high 3:06
14 Chorus: The Lord gave the word 1:08
15 Air (soprano): How beautiful are the feet of them 2:06
16 Chorus: Their sound is gone out into all lands 1:22
17 Air (bass): Why do nations so furiously rage together? 2:44
18 Chorus: Let us break their bonds asunder 1:51
19 Recit (tenor): He that dwelleth in heaven shall laugh them to scorn 0:13
20 (tenor): Thou shalt break with a rod of iron 2:13
21 Chorus: Hallelujah! 3:55

Part 3
22 Air (soprano): I know that my redeemer liveth 6:18
23 Chorus: Since by man came death 2:29
24 Accompagnato (bass): Behold, I tell you a mystery 0:38
25 Air (bass): The trumpet shall sound 8:31
26 Recit (alto): Then shall be brought to pass 0:15
27 Duet (alto and tenor): O Death, where is thy sting? 1:02
28 Chorus: But thanks be to God 2:09
29 Air (soprano): If God be for us, who can be against us? 4:51
30 Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain 3:29
31 Chorus: Amen 3:45

British conductor Harry Christophers (born 1953) founded the choral ensemble named The Sixteen in 1977. The director's vision from the outset foresaw the musical repertories for which they would be best-known: early English polyphony, other repertories of the European Renaissance, as well as choral works of the twentieth century. Even the choice of naming the ensemble not after a particular composer, style, or period served this goal of musical flexibility. With over 70 acclaimed recordings in its first two decades and a touring schedule that has brought the group to "churches from Finland to Sicily," opera houses from London to Sydney, and festivals from Salzburg to Tokyo, The Sixteen has established itself as one of the most versatile and polished choirs of the turn of the century. The 1992 recording The Rose and the Ostrich Feather: Music From the Eton Choirbook, Vol. I earned the group a Grammy award for Early Music; other recordings have been awarded numerous Grand Prix du Disque, Deutsche Schallplatten, Grammophone Early Music, and Diapason d'Or prizes. In 1991, the group sang in the world premiere of Sir Harrison Birtwistle's opera Gawain in Covent Garden; in 1998 a Lisbon Opera debut of Claudio Monteverdi's Il ritorno d'Ulisse in Patria; the year 2000 saw a "Pilgrimage" tour of English cathedrals. The Sixteen sings with an "Oxbridge" purity of intonation (Christophers himself began his musical career as head chorister at Canterbury Cathedral) combined with a passionate yet controlled dynamic range. The groups tonal virtuosity embraces the directness of Tudor and Elizabethan choirboy singing (despite the mature combination of female sopranos and male altos), yet expands to a more romantic fullness for Spanish and Portugese Renaissance music or for Benjamin Britten and Samuel Barber. The ensemble added an orchestral component (first called the Orchestra of the Sixteen and later the Symphony of Harmony and Invention) to expand its repertory into Baroque; the two groups collaborated on a series of operas of Monteverdi, operas of Purcell, several oratorios of Handel, and major works of J.S. Bach. The group founced its own record label, CORO, in 2001, and released over 90 albums in its first two decades. In 2009, Classic Grammophone FM named The Sixteen "Artist of the Year."

Download The Sixteen Choir And Orchestra & Harry Christophers - Handel: Messiah (1987)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 989 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Marc Minkowski - Handel: Messiah (2001)
  • Neville Marriner & The Academy And Chorus Of St. Martin-In-The-Fields - Han ...
  • Dunedin Consort & John Butt - Handel: Messiah (Dublin Version, 1742) (2006)
  • Nikolaus Harnoncourt & Concentus Musicus Wien - Handel: Messiah (2005)
  • George Frideric Handel - Messiah (2013)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?