Lossless music download

Any Old Time String Band - I Bid You Goodnight (1996)

Folk | Author: artmuss | 12-01-2018, 17:50
Any Old Time String Band - I Bid You Goodnight (1996)Artist: Any Old Time String Band
Title Of Album: I Bid You Goodnight
Year Of Release: 1996
Label (Catalog#): Arhoolie Records [CD 433]
Country: United States
Genre: Country, Folk, Bluegrass
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log,d.booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:18:49
Full Size: 436 mb

Combining their two LP's on one disc, this extremely accomplished and versatile female string band rips through 25 songs in just under 80 minutes, all the while managing to throw out a dizzying array of influences. Featuring truly exemplary instrumental skills, as well as excellent harmony singing, Any Old Time String Band bounce with apparent ease from exuberant fiddle tunes to 20's and 30's pop influences and Cajun tunes. Bluesier material is represented with covers of two Bessie Smith tracks, "I've Got What It Takes" and "Lock and Key," as well as Ma Rainey's "Fairwell Blues." More traditional country elements are also found with the outstanding harmony singing on the Carter Family's "Hello Stranger" and the straightlaced cover of Jimmie Rodgers "California Blues." Still, a great deal of the material is just good natured down-home country picking, as the instrumentals here are solid if not flashy. Overall, Any Old Time String Band cover their bases like very few others can, making it nearly impossible to find any fault with this collection.


1. Turkey Buzzard / Chinquapin Hunting (02:44)
2. Dear Companion (04:07)
3. Let Me Fall (02:12)
4. I Wish I'd Stayed In The Wagonyard (02:47)
5. Ma Cher Bebe Creole (02:56)
6. Dixieland One-Step (02:04)
7. Home In Pasadena (04:11)
8. Long Lost Lover Blues (04:42)
9. Valse De Orphelin (03:00)
10. I'll See You In C-U-B-A (04:44)
11. Free Little Bird (02:27)
12. I've Got What It Takes (03:47)
13. Hello Stranger (02:14)
14. La Valse De Bayou Teche (02:26)
15. Shady Grove (02:18)
16. California Blues (03:30)
17. Cowboy Girl (02:57)
18. I Made A Big Mistake (Gros Erreur) (03:14)
19. Lock And Key (03:18)
20. Fall Of Richmond / Camp Chase (02:57)
21. La Porte Dans Arriere (The Back Door) (02:47)
22. Oklahoma Blues (02:49)
23. Keep My Skillet Good And Greasy (02:47)
24. Farewell Blues (03:37)
25. I Bid You Goodnight (02:41)


TurboBit | HitFile | DipFile

:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 270 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Yonder Mountain String Band - 2016-10-13 Mainstage Morgantown, Morgantown, ...
  • Yonder Mountain String Band - 2016-10-12 Jefferson Center, Roanoke, VA (201 ...
  • The Incredible String Band - Their First Album (1966)
  • Martin J. Andersen - Six String Renegade (2015)
  • Bryan Lee - Six String Therapy (2002)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?