Lossless music download

Dwight Yoakam - Live From Austin, TX (1988) [2017] [HDTracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Rock, Folk | Author: vicor 61 | 27-02-2018, 23:15
Dwight Yoakam - Live From Austin, TX (1988) [2017] [HDTracks]
Artist: Dwight Yoakam
Title Of Album: Live From Austin, TX
Year Of Release: 2017 (1988/2005)
Label (Catalog#): New West Records
Country: USA
Genre: Country, Country Rock, Bluegrass
Quality: FLAC (tracks,front)
Bitrate: Lossless [24Bit/96kHz]
Time: 52:08
Full Size: 1,10 GB

Twentysomething Dwight Yoakam was literally the new kid in country music when he stepped onto the Austin City Limits stage in October 1988. But even then, as he has ever since, he was doing things his own way. Dwight was born in a small Kentucky town and grew up listening to mountain and bluegrass music, and unlike most of the mainstream country-pop crooners of the eighties, he almost singlehandedly revived the rockabilly/honky tonk/hillbilly sound that was one of the cornerstones of country music’s formative years. Early on he discovered the fabled “Bakersfield” sound of the 60’s and adopted it as his own, in the tradition of country legends Merle Haggard and Buck Owens. Buck, in fact, became his hero and friend. When Dwight was playing a fair in Bakersfield, he stopped by Buck’s office and coaxed him into playing a few songs with him onstage that night. The result was a lasting friendship and their historic duet, “Streets Of Bakersfield.” Much like his heroes, Dwight has been true to his roots and breaking new ground for almost 20 years.
The man who brought the Bakersfield sound back to the country charts, Dwight Yoakam, was on the road supporting his third album (and one of his best), 1988's Buenas Noches from a Lonely Room, when he and his band made a stop in Austin, Texas to appear on one of television's best showcases for quality roots music, PBS' Austin City Limits. Yoakam was at once a staunch traditionalist and a nervy Young Turk when he played his ACL gig, and both sides shine through in the performance, which has been issued on compact disc as Live from Austin TX. Yoakam and his band (including guitarist Pete Anderson) burn though these songs with plenty of spark, and demonstrate that the best sort of respect to show this music is to play it with the same swagger and confidence that Buck Owens, Johnny Horton, and Merle Haggard showed back in the day. While Yoakam is still doing that today, there's something fresh and emphatic here that shines brighter than on some of his later work, and if this disc isn't as ambitious as the later Dwight Live, on its own modest terms it's the more satisfying listen. Added value: Buck Owens and Flaco Jimenez stop by to re-create their cameo spots on "Streets of Bakersfield," with Owens in particularly feisty form.


01. Guitars, Cadillacs (4:01)
02. Smoke Along The Track (3:41)
03. What I Don't Know (4:07)
04. Home Of The Blues (3:10)
05. 1,000 Miles (4:24)
06. Please, Please Baby (3:23)
07. Little Ways (3:03)
08. Honky Tonk Man (3:02)
09. Streets Of Bakersfield (3:30)
10. Buenas Noches From A Lonely Room (She Wore Red Dresses) (4:35)
11. Always Late With Your Kisses (2:20)
12. Little Sister (3:54)
13. I Sang Dixie (4:37)
14. This Drinkin' Will Kill Me (4:22)

Recorded on October 23, 1988.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1532 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Buck Owens - Live From Austin, TX (1988) [2017] [HDTracks]
  • Merle Haggard and The Strangers - Swinging Doors And The Bottle Let Me Down ...
  • VA - Greatest Country Hits of the '80s Volume 1-3 (1995)
  • Dwight Yoakam - This Time (1993)
  • Dwight Yoakam - Second Hand Heart (2015)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?