Lossless music download

VA - Salsoul Presents: Definitive 12" Masters Vol.1 & 2 (2004)

Electronic, Pop | Author: artmuss | 4-03-2020, 00:08
VA - Salsoul Presents: Definitive 12" Masters Vol.1 & 2 (2004)Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Salsoul Presents Definitive 12" Masters Vol.1 & 2
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Suss'd Records
Country: International
Genre: Disco, Soul, Funk, Post-Disco, Dance
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 4:31:28
Full Size: 1.78 gb


Vol. 1

CD 1
1. Salsoul Orchestra - You're Just The Right Size (Original Mix) (4:41)
2. Loleatta Holloway - Dreamin' (Original Norman Harris Mix) (6:20)
3. Double Exposure - Ten Percent (Original Tom Moulton Mix) (9:43)
4. Double Exposure - My Love Is Free (Original Tom Moulton Mix) (9:42)
5. Carol Williams - Love Is You (Original Mix) (7:52)
6. First Choice - Doctor Love (Original Tom Moulton Mix) (7:36)
7. Loleatta Holloway - Runaway (Original Mix) (4:46)
8. Ripple - Beat Goes On And On (Jim Burgess 12-Inch Mix) (6:56)
9. Love Committee - Just As Long As I Got You (Walter Gibbons 12-Inch Mix) (8:36)

CD 2
1. Instant Funk - I've Got My Mind Made Up (Larry Levan 12-Inch Mix) (9:48)
2. Candido - Dancin' & Prancin' (Original Mix) (6:54)
3. Candido - Jingo (David Rodriguez 12-Inch Mix) (9:52)
4. Salsoul Orchestra - How High (Larry Levan 12-Inch Remix) (7:46)
5. Loleatta Holloway - Love Sensation (Shep Pettibone 12-Inch Remix) (7:40)
6. Inner Life - Ain't No Mountain High Enough (Larry Levan 12-Inch Mix) (10:27)
7. Logg - I Know You Will (Larry Levan 12-Inch Remix) (10:55)
8. First Choice - Let No Man Put Asunder (Shep Pettibone Remix) (7:59)
9. Leroy Burgess - Heartbreaker (Shep Pettibone 12-Inch Mix) (6:11)

As with most other disco labels that enjoyed some form of commercial success, Salsoul -- one of the first names you'll hear any DJ mention when the subject of disco labels comes up -- owes its popularity to the DJs and remix producers as much as the groups, vocalists, and session musicians. The Definitive 12" Masters emphasizes this notion more than most other Salsoul compilations, since the versions presented here are often more known than their original-mix or album-mix counterparts. Larry Levan, Walter Gibbons, Shep Pettibone, Norman Harris, David Rodriguez, and Jim Burgess get as much shine here as Loleatta Holloway, Candido, Double Exposure, First Choice, and the other names credited with providing the raw material. If you have more than one Salsoul compilation, odds are good you'll be getting a fair amount of overlap with this. Even though the bulk of these tracks have been available on a few sets throughout the years (including other discs released during this particular wave of Salsoul reissues), the set is too well put together to disregard. Highlights: the Larry Levan mixes of Instant Funk's "I Got My Mind Made Up" and Inner Life's "Ain't No Mountain High Enough," the Walter Gibbons mixes of Double Exposure's "Ten Percent" and Love Committee's "Just as Long as I Got You," and the Shep Pettibone mixes of First Choice's "No Man Put Asunder" and Loleatta Holloway's "Love Sensation."

Vol. 2

CD 1
01 Moment of Truth - Helplessly [Original Tom Moulton 12' Mix]
02 Joe Bataan - Bottle [Original Album Version]
03 The Salsoul Orchestra - Nice N' Naasty [Original Walter Gibbons 12' Mix]
04 The Salsoul Orchestra - It's Good for the Soul [Original Walter Gibbons 12' Mix]
05 Double Exposure - Everyman [Original Walter Gibbons 12' Mix]
06 Eddie Holman - This Will Be a Night to Remember [Original Tom Moulton 12' Mix]
07 Loleatta Holloway - Hit and Run [Original Walter Gibbons 12' Mix]
08 Claudja Barry - Love for the Sake of Love [Original Album Version]
09 Gaz - Sing Sing [Original Richie Riviera 12' Mix]

CD 2
01 Skyy - First Time Around [Original Larry Levan 12' Remix]
02 First Choice - Love Thang [Original Tee Scott 12' Remix]
03 Loleatta Holloway - All About the Paper [Original Bobby 'DJ' Guttadaro 12' Remix]
04 Skip Mahoney - Janice (Don't Be So Blind to Love) [Original 12' Mix]
05 Aurra - Make Up Your Mind [Original Steve Washington - Julian Robertson 12' Mix]
06 Inner Life - Moment of My Life [Original Shep Pettibone 12' Remix]
07 The Salsoul Orchestra - Ooh I Love It (Love Break) [Original Shep Pettibone 12' Remix]
08 Jimmy Castor - It's Just Begun [Original Larry Levan 12' Mix]
09 Candido - Dancin' and Prancin' [Original Joey Negro 12' Remix]

The second volume of The Definitive 12" Masters is another two-disc compilation that spotlights Walter Gibbons, Tom Moulton, Larry Levan, Tee Scott, Shep Pettibone, and other remixers who made significant contributions to the Salsoul label and the history of club music. Again, most of these tracks have appeared on several other CD compilations released since the early '90s, but none of the preceding discs were presented with this level of care -- the U.K.'s Suss'd label hasn't held back with overlapping content from release to release, but it has given the Salsoul vaults a lot of love, with extensive and colorful liner notes, and excellent sound whenever possible. Highlights here include a mix of First Choice's "Love Thang," provided by Scott -- a major figure to those who saw him spin at New York's Better Days and those who paid diligent attention to remixing credits -- as well as two boogie classics: Levan's mix of Skyy's steamy "First Time Around" (one of Randy Muller's finest productions) and Pettibone's mix of Inner Life's "Moment of My Life" (written by Leroy Burgess and Sonny Davenport). Unsurprisingly, most of the tracks here have been durable enough to outlast countless dance music trends that took root during the latter half of the '80s and the following decades.



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 2080 |
    Related Releases:     
  • VA - Disco Funk Flavas (2004)
  • VA - Salsoul 30th Anniversary (2005)
  • VA - Mixed With Love: The Walter Gibbons Salsoul Anthology (2004)
  • VA - The Beat Goes On - Salsoul Classics [Mixed By Towa Tei] (2012)
  • VA - Mixology The Definitive Salsoul Mixes (2011)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?