Lossless music download

Barbra Streisand - Higher Ground (1997) [2015] [HDtracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Rock, Pop | Author: BlondStyle | 21-03-2018, 22:53
Barbra Streisand - Higher Ground (1997) [2015] [HDtracks]Artist: Barbra Streisand
Title Of Album: Higher Ground
Year Of Release: 2015-02-23 (1997-11-11)
Label: Columbia
Country: USA
Genre: Pop/Rock, Vocal, Ballad
Quality: FLAC (tracks, front)
Bitrate: Lossless [24bit/44.1kHz]
Time: 56:44
Full Size: 617,33 Mb

"Higher Ground" is the 27th studio album by Barbra Streisand, her first in four years. The album was inspired by and dedicated to Virginia Clinton Kelley. It was released in North America on November 11, 1997 and a day earlier in Europe. Higher Ground was her eighth #1 album in the US and has sold more than 5 million copies worldwide.


Arranged by – Walter Afanasieff, David Foster, Jeremy Lubbock, Mervyn Warren
Art Direction – Nancy Donald
Design – Hooshik
Executive-Producer – Barbra Streisand, Jay Landers
Liner Notes – Barbra Streisand
Liner Notes [Session Notes] – Jay Landers
Orchestra Arrangements and Conducting by – Paul Bogaev, William David Brohn, Marvin Hamlisch, Jeremy Lubbock, Arif Mardin, William Ross, Mervyn Warren
Photography By [Front Cover, Back Cover, Tray Card] – Randee St. Nicholas
Produced by – Barbra Streisand, Walter Afanasieff, David Foster, Jeremy Lubbock, Arif Mardin, and Mervyn Warren
Recording Engineers & Mixers – Dave Reitzas, Frank Filipetti, David Gleeson, Jeff Balding, Mick Guzauski, Humberto Gatica, Frank Wolf, Dana Jon Chappelle, Shawn Murphy

The Billboard 200 is a ranking of the 200 highest-selling music albums in the United States, published weekly by Billboard magazine.

Here's the numbers for this Streisand album:

Debut Chart Date: 11-29-1997
No. Weeks on Billboard 200 Albums Chart: 27
Peak Chart Position: #1 for 1 week
Gold: 12/9/97
Platinum: 12/9/97
3x Multi-Platinum: 12/22/97

Gold: 500,000 units shipped
Platinum: 1 million units shipped


• Barbra's three-year inspirational album project began in January 1994 at the Arkansas funeral of Virginia Kelley, President Clinton's mother, with its beautiful, emotional, and uplifting songs, including Janice Sojstrand's rendition of "On Holy Ground," which gave Barbra a desire to sing that song and similar others. Preparing for the "On Holy Ground" recording sessions, Barbra provided producer-arranger Mervyn Warren (formerly of Take 6) with a tape recording from the funeral as a model for her gospel choir recording.
• Recorded in two weeks, August 1997, and track 5 in September 1997; and dedicated to Virginia Clinton Kelley.
• Debuted at #1 on The Billboard 200 album chart dated 11-29-97, having sold 207,000 units in its initial week of release (based solely on SoundScan reports), significantly more than 1993's Back To Broadway (121,000) in its first week, when it also debuted at #1. This is Barbra's eighth #1 album and allowed her to pass The Beatles as the act with the longest span of #1 albums, 33 years since People hit #1 in 1964. For several years, she has been the only artist to achieve #1 albums in the '60s, '70s, '80s, and '90s. In addition Barbra is now third [behind The Beatles (17) and Elvis Presley and The Rolling Stones (9 each)] on the list of artists with the most #1 albums in the rock era. The weekend of 11/14, following Barbra's 20/20 TV appearance, sales were reported higher than on the first day of release. In its second week of release, which included Barbra's landmark appearance on The Rosie O'Donnell Show, the album maintained a top 10 position, increasing sales to 267,000 and moving only to #3. In its third week, the album sold 247,000, moving to #4 but outselling the previous week's #1 album. Week four yielded 232,000 units and back up to #3 behind holiday supersellers Garth Brooks (1) and Celine Dion (2). In week five the album sold an amazing 321,000+ copies, retaining its #3 chart position behnd similarly huge-selling Brooks and Dion. 465,000+ units moved during week six, holding the album steady at #3 according to SoundScan, despite the Billboard chart holiday hiatus. Week 7 kept the album at #3, with 402,000 units sold. The post-holiday sales declines of virtually all albums took Barbra's CD out of the top 10 during week 8 (ending 1/4/98). The album charted for 27 consecutive weeks, concluding at #145 on 5/30/98. Billboard's year-end Top Albums chart lists the album at #16 (Dec. 6, 1997 - Nov. 28, 1998).
• On December 9th the album was RIAA-certified Gold (her 39th), Platinum (25th), and Double Platinum (12th multi-platinum). On December 22nd, the album received triple-platinum certification. Worldwide sales have exceeded six million.
• Walter Afanasieff nominated for a Grammy in 1998 as non-classical producer of the year (the award went to Babyface).
• Jeremy Lubbock nominated for a Grammy in 1999 for instrumental arrangement with vocals on track 1; he did not win the award.
• "Tell Him" released as CD single outside the U.S. in November 1997, and "If I Could" released as CD single in Europe in February 1998.
• Promo CD singles released for "Tell Him," "If I Could," and "Higher Ground" in the U.S.
• Value Pack (CTK 68940) containing CD and cassette available.
• In November and December 1997 Barbra made TV appearances on the following programs: 20/20 (ABC, US), The Rosie O'Donnell Show (syndicated, US), Access Hollywood (syndicated, U.S.), GMTV (ITV, UK), and Exclusiv (RTL, Germany). MSNBC's retrospective Time & Again debuted its Streisand hour in November 1997. In May 1998 an hour interview special called Barbra Streisand: My Life aired on Australia's Nine Network. Two print interviews were published in The New York Times (11/11) and The Los Angeles Times (11/20).
• BB: 11-29-97 / 27 / #1(1) || G, 12/9/97; P, 12/9/97; 3P, 12/22/97

Release of the album: 1997, November, 11 [CD Columbia, Cat.# CK 66181, USA]
Release of this Qobuz edition: 2015, February, 23 [Label: Columbia]
(c)(p) 1997 Sony Music Entertainment Inc., Sony Music Entertainment (Canada) Inc.


01. I Believe / You'll Never Walk Alone (06:12)
(E. Drake / I. Graham / J. Shirl / A. Stillman) / (R. Rodgers / O. Hammerstein II)
02. Higher Ground (04:23)
(S. Dorff / G. Green / K. Agee)
03. At The Same Time (04:18)
(A.H. Callaway)
04. Tell Him (Duet with Celine Dion) (04:53)
(D. Foster / L. Thompson / W. Afanasieff)
05. On Holy Ground (06:14)
(G. Davis)
06. If I Could (04:25)
(R.L. Miller / K. Hirsch / M.V. Sharron)
07. Circle (04:16)
(J. Friedman / C. Weil)
08. The Water Is Wide / Deep River (05:33)
09. Leading With Your Heart (03:33)
(A. Bergman / M. Bergman / M. Hamlisch)
10. Lessons To Be Learned (04:43)
(A. Rich / D.S. Gazeley / M. Malamet)
11. Everything Must Change (04:05)
(B. Ighner)
12. Avinu Malkeinu (04:09)
(M. Janowski)

Barbra Streisand - Higher Ground (1997) [2015] [HDtracks]

Barbra Streisand - Higher Ground (1997) [2015] [HDtracks]


password: BlondStyle

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1432 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Barbra Streisand - Barbra Streisand's Greatest Hits Volume 2 (1978) [2015] ...
  • Barbra Streisand - The Way We Were (1974) [2015] [HDtracks]
  • Barbra Streisand - People (1964) [2014] [HDtracks]
  • Barbra Streisand - Stoney End (1971) [1994]
  • Barbra Streisand - The Third Album (1964) [1993]

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?