Lossless music download

Brad Mehldau - After Bach (2018)

Classic, Jazz | Author: SELMER | 5-04-2018, 08:44
Brad Mehldau - After Bach (2018)
Artist: Brad Mehldau
Title Of Album: After Bach
Year Of Release: 2018
Label: Nonesuch Records
Country: USA
Genre: Jazz / Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 69:22 min
Full Size: 266 MB


01. Before Bach: Benediction
02. Prelude No. 3 in C# Major from The Well-Tempered Clavier Book I, BWV 848
03. After Bach: Rondo
04. Prelude No. 1 in C Major from The Well-Tempered Clavier Book II, BWV 870
05. After Bach: Pastorale
06. Prelude No. 10 in E Minor from The Well-Tempered Clavier Book I, BWV 855
07. After Bach: Flux
08. Prelude and Fugue No. 12 in F Minor from The Well-Tempered Clavier Book I, BWV 857
09. After Bach: Dream
10. Fugue No. 16 in G Minor from The Well-Tempered Clavier Book II, BWV 885
11. After Bach: Ostinato
12. Prayer for Healing

Brad Mehldau's ruminative, harmonically nuanced jazz has long evinced a deep classical influence. His highly regarded 1999 Elegiac Cycle found him evincing the work of composers like Brahms, Chopin, and Schumann. He went on to offer similar cycles to classical vocalists Renee Fleming and Anne Sofie von Otter. All of which is to say that, like his forebears, pianists Bill Evans, Keith Jarrett, and Paul Bley, Mehldau is as likely to draw upon a classical piece as any jazz standard, especially when he is playing his own often meditative original compositions. On 2018's After Bach, the acclaimed pianist takes that classical influence to its logical fruition, investigating composer J.S. Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier fugues. Alongside Bach's work, he offers his own "After Bach" compositions inspired by the fugues. While Mehldau is primarily known as a jazz musician, he's no slouch as a classical pianist, either. Blessed with a supple technique and emotive keyboard flow, he offers deft renditions of Bach's fugues. Here, he dances spritely through "Prelude No. 3 in C sharp major, BWV 848 (from The Well-Tempered Clavier Book I)~Prelude," and delivers a drawn-out, mournful take on "Prelude and Fugue No. 12 in F minor, BWV 587 (from The Well-Tempered Clavier Book I)." His own "After Bach" compositions are equally compelling, as he takes Bach's circular, swirling architecture and builds his own pieces, weaving in bits of jazz-informed harmonics and unexpected lyrical asides. Cuts like "Rondo" and "Flux" are buoyant and circular, splitting the difference between Vince Guaraldi and Keith Jarrett. Elsewhere, "Dream" plays like an impressionist Debussy composition as performed by Matthew Shipp. With After Bach, Mehldau has crafted a warm, endlessly listenable album that still pushes plenty of musical boundaries. -- Matt Collar

Download Brad Mehldau - After Bach (2018)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1635 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Brad Mehldau - After Bach [HDtracks] (2018)
  • Mie Miki - Das wohltemperierte Akkordeon (2017)
  • Sviatoslav Richter - Eurodisc Recordings [14CD Box Set] (2016)
  • Akademie fur Alte Musik Berlin - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart-Adagios & Fugues: ...
  • Pierre-Laurent Aimard - Bach: The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I (2014) [HDT ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?