Lossless music download

George Jackson - Old Friend: The Fame Recordings Volume 3 [Remastered] (2013)

Jazz, Blues, Pop | Author: artmuss | 13-04-2018, 17:57
George Jackson - Old Friend: The Fame Recordings Volume 3 [Remastered] (2013)Artist: George Jackson
Title Of Album: Old Friend: The Fame Recordings Volume 3
Year Of Release: 2013
Label (Catalog#): Kent Soul [CDKEND 408]
Country: United States
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 67:41
Full Size: 224 mb

George Jackson never quite made it as a performer, despite cutting a handful of fine soul singles for various labels in the '60s and '70s. Instead, Jackson found success as a songwriter, penning hits for the likes of Wilson Pickett ("A Man and a Half"), Clarence Carter ("Too Weak to Fight"), Candi Staton ("Six Nights and a Day"), Z.Z. Hill ("Down Home Blues"), Bob Seger ("Old Time Rock and Roll"), and even the Osmonds ("One Bad Apple"). Wolf Stephenson, who worked with Jackson at Malaco Records, once said of him, "George had hooks coming out of his ears. They weren't all hits, but I never heard him write a bad song." Anyone who wants practical evidence of that statement will find plenty of proof on Old Friend: The Fame Recordings, Vol. 3, a collection of 23 tunes (all but two unreleased) Jackson cut during his time as a staff songwriter at Fame Records from the mid-'60s to the early '70s, with one home-recorded demo closing the disc. Nearly every song on this set is a gem, and given that most of these recordings were intended to be publishing demos, it's hard to believe that someone didn't score a hit with "Heart on a String," "You Got to Make a Decision," "It's Up to His Woman," or "Two Legs and a Red Dress," among others, and with a handful of Muscle Shoals' best studio cats backing him up, these performances are full-bodied and full of solid grooves throughout, even when they appear to have been captured on the run. Just as importantly, Jackson was a passionate vocalist with a solid voice and a knack for the emotional spectrum of songs about love gone wrong (or occasionally love gone right), and there are plenty of acts who enjoyed long and successful careers with performances less immediately impressive than these. It might be going a bit far to call George Jackson a lost hero of Southern soul, but Old Friend: The Fame Recordings, Vol. 3 suggests that with better luck, he could have been as big as a singer as he was as a composer, and fans of the golden age of R&B will get some serious kicks from this music.


1. It's Up To His Woman
2. I'm Holding On
3. I'm In The Middle Of A Good Thing
4. It Ain't Nothin' Like When
5. Break Away From Me
6. Don't Let A Good Thing Go To Waste
7. I Got My Own Style Of Lovin'
8. Just Another Day
9. Superstitious Woman
10. If You Ain't Here
11. You Got To Make A Decision
12. We Got The Perfect Love
13. Doesn't It Make Sense To You
14. All He Can Do Is Love You
15. Heart On A String
16. Bad Case Of Love
17. Add A Little Sunshine
18. Your Love Caught Me Off Guard
19. Gotta Have Soul
20. Old Friend (You Ask Me If I Miss Her)
21. Switch Tracks
22. Two Legs And A Red Dress
23. That From The Heart
24. Won't Nobody Cha-Cha With Me (Home Demo)


TurboBit | HitFile | DipFile

:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 1 | Views: 1135 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Millie Jackson - Millie Jackson's Soul For The Dancefloor [Remastered] (20 ...
  • Spencer Wiggins - The Goldwax Years [Remastered] (2006)
  • Dan Penn - The Fame Recordings (2012)
  • Candi Staton - Evidence: The Complete Fame Records Masters (1969-1974)
  • VA - The Fame Studios Story 1961-1973 [3CD Box Set] (2011)

  • #1: Soulman902 (13 April 2018 23:57)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.07.2017
    Thanks again for album and lossless smile

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?