Lossless music download

Clifford Curzon, New Symphony Orchestra & George Szell - Tchaikovsky: Concerto pour piano No. 1, Op. 23 (2014) [Hi-Res]

Classic, HD Tracks & Vinyl | Author: SELMER | 14-04-2018, 09:38
Clifford Curzon, New Symphony Orchestra & George Szell - Tchaikovsky: Concerto pour piano No. 1, Op. 23 (2014) [Hi-Res]
Artist: Clifford Curzon, New Symphony Orchestra & George Szell
Title Of Album: Tchaikovsky: Concerto pour piano No. 1, Op. 23
Year Of Release: 1952 / 2014
Label: BnF Collection
Country: Various Countries
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless [96kHz/24bit]
Time: 32:35 min
Full Size: 308 MB


Concerto pour piano No. 1 in B-flat minor Op. 23
1 I. Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso - Allegro con spirito [19:01]
2 II. Andantino semplice - Prestissimo [06:45]
3 III. Allegro con fuoco [06:49]

Clifford Curzon was among the finest English pianists of the twentieth century, known for his clear, ego-less performances of the German Classical and Romantic masterpieces. A quiet intellectual who nevertheless possessed a formidable technique, Curzon played everything from Mozart to Liszt with equal authority. His fans often cite this ability to emphasize the personality of each composer, rather than his own, as his most distinctive quality. Curzon recorded for the Decca label for over 30 years, leaving behind a modestly sized, but musically impressive catalog. His recordings of Mozart and Schubert are considered his best.

Curzon achieved success early, with a scholarship to London's Royal Academy of Music in 1919. His impressive student career earned him every prize available to a pianist at the Academy, and he made his professional debut in 1923 -- playing Bach's Triple Concerto with conductor Henry Wood at a Promenade Concert in Queen's Hall. In 1926, when still just 19 years old, he was invited to join the RAM faculty; he remained on the faculty there until 1932, when he became a full-time performing pianist. During his time teaching at the RAM, Curzon spent several extended periods abroad studying with great pianists: first with Artur Schnabel in Berlin, and then with Wanda Landowska and Nadia Boulanger in Paris. In 1936, Curzon made a recital tour of Europe with violist Lionel Tertis, and in 1939, he made his U.S. debut at New York's Town Hall. By 1941, he was making records for Decca, beginning a relationship that would last almost to the end of his life.

Curzon was an exacting perfectionist, often refusing to allow the release of recordings he felt were imperfect. This included recordings of Mozart concertos with the likes of George Szell, Istvan Kertesz, and Benjamin Britten conducting. For this and other reasons, he earned a reputation for being difficult, and at times highly temperamental -- an irony, considering his generally retiring nature, and the restrained elegance of his playing. Curzon was knighted in 1977. -- Allen Schrott

Download Clifford Curzon, New Symphony Orchestra & George Szell - Tchaikovsky: Concerto pour piano No. 1, Op. 23 (2014) [Hi-Res]

   Comments: 0 | Views: 694 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Dinu Lipatti - Grieg: Piano Concerto & Schumann: Piano Concerto (2012) [Hi- ...
  • Eugene Istomin - Eugene Istomin: The Concerto And Solo Recordings (2015)
  • Denis Kozhukhin - Tchaikovsky & Grieg: Piano Concertos (2016)
  • VA - Mozart: Piano Concertos [12CD Box Set] (2011)
  • Clifford Curzon, English Chamber Orchestran - Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20 ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?