Lossless music download

Jimmy Hughes - Why Not Tonight? - The Fame Recordings Vol. 2 (2010)

Jazz, Blues | Author: artmuss | 14-04-2018, 12:20
Jimmy Hughes - Why Not Tonight? - The Fame Recordings Vol. 2 (2010)Artist: Jimmy Hughes
Title Of Album: Why Not Tonight?: The Fame Recordings Vol. 2
Year Of Release: 2010
Label (Catalog#): Kent Records [CDKEND 331]
Country: United States
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues, Northern Soul, Country Soul
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 52:06
Full Size: 229 mb

While Jimmy Hughes' second album (from 1967) was titled Why Not Tonight?, this CD is more an expanded version of that LP rather than a straight reissue. The first ten tracks are indeed the Why Not Tonight? album in its original sequence, but it's followed by 11 bonus tracks from the same era, essentially doubling the length of the original LP and adding historical liner notes. Hughes isn't much known outside the soul collector world for anything besides his 1964 hit "Steal Away," but this is a quite solid collection of mid-'60s Southern soul. Certainly a highlight is the title track, a gospel-flavored emotional ballad that was a 1967 R&B hit. Also a hit, though it was actually Jimmy's second recording of the song, was the bluesy, brassy uptempo "Neighbor, Neighbor." There's a good mix of styles and speeds throughout the material from the original Why Not Tonight? LP, including songs by Hughes himself and the famed songwriting team of Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham. It's soul with more imaginative, less clich?d melodic progressions than much of what was being done in the region; excellent backing arrangements that get into deep grooves without overdoing it; and fine good-natured vocals by Hughes, though it was on ballads like "Why Not Tonight" and Penn-Oldham's "I Worship the Ground You Walk On" that he was best, reaching for something more stirring. The bonus cuts include seven sides from 1965-1967 singles that are almost equal in overall quality, standouts being the arching bluesy ballad "Don't Lose Your Good Thing"; Hughes' more dynamic "Time Will Bring You Back" and "It Ain't What You Got," the latter of which had an organ groove in the "Neighbor, Neighbor" mold; and the slow near-blues "Uncle Sam," which comes pretty close to antiwar commentary for a '60s soul number. Also among the extras are three previously unreleased tracks, two of them from November 1964 (the better of those being the quite nice ballad "Well Alright Girl"), and one of them being a different version of "Neighbor, Neighbor"; the final bonus cut, "Too Much," was first issued in 2009 on another Hughes compilation. Though not the flashiest singer, Hughes was a good one whose mid-'60s output is packaged in exemplary fashion with this release, and shouldn't be missed by soul fans.


1. Why Not Tonight
2. I'm A Man Of Action
3. I Worship The Ground You Walk On
4. Neighbor, Neighbor (Version 2)
5. It Was Nice
6. Slippin' Around With You
7. Midnight Affair
8. It's A Good Thing
9. I'm The Loving Physician
10. I Stand Accused
11. When It Comes To Dancing
12. You Can't Believe Everything That You Hear
13. Don't Lose Your Good Thing
14. Hi Heel Sneakers
15. Time Will Bring You Back
16. Uncle Sam
17. It Ain't What You Got
18. Dillie Dillie
19. Well Alright Girl
20. Too Much
21. Neighbour, Neighbour (Version 3)


TurboBit | HitFile | DipFile

:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 1 | Views: 1452 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Jimmy Hughes - Steal Away - The Early Fame Recordings (2009)
  • Glenn Hughes And Pat Thrall - Hughes / Thrall 1982 (Rock Candy 2006)
  • Gary Hughes - Gary Hughes (1992) [Special 5th Anniversary Reissue 1997]
  • VA - The Fame Studios Story 1961-1973 [3CD Box Set] (2011)
  • Glenn Hughes - First Underground Nuclear Kitchen (2008)

  • #1: Soulman902 (14 April 2018 18:10)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.07.2017
    Thanks again for the lossless smile

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?