Lossless music download

The Delfonics - The Professionals (1998)

Jazz, Pop | Author: artmuss | 16-04-2018, 10:01
The Delfonics - The Professionals (1998)Artist: The Delfonics
Title Of Album: The Professionals
Year Of Release: 1998
Label (Catalog#): Kent Soul [CDKEND 165]
Country: United States
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues, Philly Soul
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:12:44
Full Size: 509 mb

The bulk of The Professionals consists of ten previously unreleased cuts recorded in 1975 for a planned follow-up to Alive & Kicking. The album was shelved after the poor performance of the band's last few singles, and the cuts appear here for the first time. As could be expected, it's not difficult to see why these cuts were never released, even though they sound fairly identical to the band's other hits, especially the classic "Didn't I Blow Your Mind." There are some interesting standout moments here, such as the dance break inserted into the middle of "Your Name," or the jazzy rhythms of "The Same Things That Make You Laugh." Most of it, though, lacks the punch and energy of earlier hits, which suggests that one of the reasons the album wasn't released is because the Delfonics' formula may have started to wear thin (even though none of this sounds unlistenable or ill-conceived). The disc also includes several cuts from Alive & Kicking and the comparison is interesting, since those songs sound musically similar but much more lively and crisp. Part of that may have been the fuller production, but it still seems like the band had essentially peaked by 1974. As an added bonus, the disc includes an outtake from the Alive & Kicking sessions, "Don't Leave Me," and it's a lovely, though inessential, ballad. The Professionals will be of value mostly to Delfonics fans and collectors, but newcomers should probably stick with other collections.


1 The Way Things Are
2 This Time, This Time
3 I've Got Everything
4 Men Of Action
5 The Phoney
6 Your Name
7 (Sing A) Clean Song
8 Tell Him
9 The Same Things That Make You Laugh
10 Oh My Love
11 First Thing On My Mind
12 Hey Baby
13 Pardon Me Girl
14 Seventeen (And In Love)
15 Love Is
16 Can't Go On Living
17 Start All Over Again
18 Don't Leave Me


TurboBit | DipFile

:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 1 | Views: 866 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Jimmy Hughes - Steal Away - The Early Fame Recordings (2009)
  • VA - Deep in the Philly Groove (1994)
  • Paul McCartney - Cold Cuts (1980)
  • The Delfonics - Didn't I Blow Your Mind (2000)
  • Adrian Younge & The Delfonics - Adrian Younge Presents the Delfonics (2013) ...

  • #1: Soulman902 (16 April 2018 14:28)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.07.2017
    Thanks again for lossless smile

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?