Lossless music download

VA - Rare Collectable And Soulful Volume 1 & 2 (1997)

Jazz, Blues, Pop | Author: artmuss | 17-04-2018, 12:36
VA - Rare Collectable And Soulful Volume 1 & 2 (1997)Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Rare Collectable And Soulful Volume 1 & 2
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Kent Soul
Country: International
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:58:04
Full Size: 459 mb


Volume 1
1. The Cavaliers – Ooh It Hurts Me
2. The Metros – Push A Little Harder
3. Willie Kendrick – Change Your Ways
4. Lorraine Chandler – What Can I Do
5. Sharon Scott – (Putting My Heart Under) Lock And Key
6. Carolyn Cooke – Take Me Away
7. Kenny Carter – What's That On Your Finger
8. H.B. Barnum – It Hurts Too Much To Cry
9. Dean Courtney – Today Is My Day
10. The Barons – Since You're Gone
11. The Dynamics – Love Sick
12. Willie Kendrick – She'll Be Leaving You
13. Sharon Scott – It's Better
14. Lorraine Chandler – Mend The Torn Pieces Of My Heart
15. The Bobbettes – Having Fun
16. Tony Mason – Don't You Know A True Love (When You Find One)
17. Roy Hamilton – Crackin' Up Over You
18. The Insiders – I'm Just A Man
19. Johnny Nash – I'm Leaving
20. Roy Hamilton – Let The Music Play
21. Faye Crawford – What Have I Done Wrong
22. Nancy Wilcox – Coming On Strong
23. Percy Wiggins – It Didn't Take Much (For Me To Fall In Love)
24. The Metros – I'll Never Forget You

From the inception of Britain's Northern Soul club scene onward, the RCA label adorned more crowd-favorite singles than seemingly any other label, but for years none of the company's truly rare classics ever appeared on CD, making the 1997 release of Rare Collectable and Soulful, Vol. 1 a real event: Not only was compiler Ady Croasdell granted access to RCA's vaults, but among the 30 master tapes he brought back, 13 tracks were previously unreleased. The end result remains one of the gems of the vast Kent catalog, as well as one of the seminal Northern Soul collections ever issued -- truly essential listening for anyone with even a passing interest in the classic soul of the mid- to late- '60s. Highlights include the Cavaliers' "Ooh It Hurts Me," Lorraine Chandler's "What Can I Do?," Sharon Scott's "(Putting My Heart Under) Lock and Key," and Roy Hamilton's "Crackin' Up Over You."

Volume 2
1. Lorraine Chandler – You Only Live Twice
2. Sharon Scott – I'm Not Afraid
3. The Metros – My Imagination
4. The Cavaliers – It's Guaranteed
5. Willie Kendrick – She's Foolin' You (AKA Watch Yourself)
6. Johnny Nash – What Kind Of Love Is This?
7. The Channels – Anything You Do
8. The Geminis – Can't Let You Go
9. Lorraine Chandler – I Can't Hold On
10. The Bobbettes – Happy Go Lucky Me
11. Tony Mason – Let Me Correct Myself
12. Kenny Carter – I've Gotta To Find Her
13. Roy Hamilton – Reach Out For Me
14. Johnny Nash – Three Rooms With Running Water
15. The Dynamics – The Girl's Got Soul
16. Willie Kendrick – American Dollar
17. The Cavaliers – Dance Little Girl
18. Sharon Scott – Don't Wait Too Long
19. The Exciters – Movin' Too Slow
20. The Celestrals – Chain Reaction
21. The Metros – Losing You Again
22. Sonny Til – Tears And Misery
23. Dean Courtney – Love Is So Wonderful
24. Rufus Lumley – Stronger Than Me

Sam Cooke to the contrary, RCA wasn't known as a soul powerhouse in the 1960s, but it did issue its share of recordings in the style. This 24-track compilation doesn't have any hits, although there are little-known outings from Johnny Nash, the Exciters (long after the "Tell Him" days), Roy Hamilton, and ex-Oriole Sonny Til; in fact, about half of it was previously unreleased. A lot of it was produced in New York and Detroit (the Motor City outings largely generated by the Pied Piper production team), and it's largely upbeat, mid- to uptempo, acceptable but unexceptional soul. That's the kind of style, of course, which is so beloved by northern soul mavens, who will want this for the sheer rarity of the material if nothing else. The average soul fan should pass. If you find yourself in between, you may find it useful to know that the better tracks include Lorraine Chandler's gutsy version of "You Only Live Twice" (yes, the same James Bond theme that was a hit for Nancy Sinatra), Hamilton's version of Bacharach-David's "Reach Out for Me," and Nash's Drifters-type go at his own composition "What Kind of Love Is This" (which would be a hit for Joey Dee).


TurboBit | DipFile

:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 2586 |
    Related Releases:     
  • VA - The Northern Soul Story Volume 3: Blackpool Mecca (2007)
  • VA - The Northern Soul Story Volume 2: The Golden Torch (2007)
  • VA - Pied Piper Presents A New Concept In Detroit Soul (2013)
  • VA - Dave Hamilton's Detroit Dancers Volume 3 (2006)
  • VA - RCA Victor - A Northern Soul Legacy (2011)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?