Lossless music download

VA - The UK Sue Label Story Volume 4 (2006)

Jazz, Blues, Pop | Author: artmuss | 20-04-2018, 00:17
VA - The UK Sue Label Story Volume 4 (2006)Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: The UK Sue Label Story Volume 4
Year Of Release: 2006
Label (Catalog#): Kent Soul [CDKEND258]
Country: International
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:10:04
Full Size: 251 mb

As most RT readers will know, Ace spent a lot of 2004 saluting the late Guy Stevens, and his accomplishment in establishing the Sue label as the UK’s first important independent outlet for R&B, Blues and Soul 45s and albums. Guy had compiled and released three vinyl volumes of “The Sue Story” during his time in charge of the label, and Ace had originally planned to mirror Guy’s achievements with just a trio of CDs that would cover the entire spectrum of what UK Sue had released between 1963-1968.

However, many soul fans have always believed that Guy was intending to issue a “Sue Story Vol 4” at the time of his departure from the label, yours truly and journalist/long-time Sue obsessive Mike Atherton among them. When Mike sounded Ace out about the prospect of making this dream a reality, it was not something that any of us here had to think about for any length of time – especially as we’d already had so many people e-mailing to ask why the previous three volumes of “The UK Sue Story” hadn’t included their favourite Sue release. After more than a year of batting ideas back and forth and winning some, losing some in the licensing stakes – and almost 40 years after the late great Mike Raven proclaimed that he was “looking forward to [it]” - we’ve finally arrived at the unbeatable fourth volume that debuts on Kent this month.

Everyone will have his or her own favourites here, and yours truly is no exception. I’ve always felt that Danny White’s Stax-recorded I’ve Dedicating My Life is the epitome of a deep soul classic, while Rosco Gordon’s romping version of Fats Domino’s Goin’ Home is among this unique artist’s most vibrant recordings. Joe Haywood’s original of Warm And Tender Love has always wiped the floor with Percy Sledge’s unjustifiably better-known remake, and it’s a real pleasure to get the Dorsets’ greasy-as-it-sounds Pork Chops onto CD for what surely is the first time. Big City soul does not get any more melodramatic or histrionic than it does in Claudine Clark’s marvellously out of control The Strength To Be Strong, and “The Late, Fantastically Great” Elmore James demonstrates that you do not need to be Phil Spector to create a wall of sound with the mighty Knocking On Your Door – which also debunks any myth that every up-tempo Elmore record is a variation on Dust My Blues.

We’re also really happy that we have been able to help Guy fulfil his thwarted ambition of getting Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’ I Put A Spell On You onto a UK Sue release, 40 years after the intended issue on WI-4008 was cancelled at the last minute. And we’re pleased to unravel a mystery that has baffled collectors for almost as long, by revealing the true identity of Alexander Jackson and the Turnkeys and the real title of The Whip.

All this, plus a bunch of names that are as synonymous with Sue as the familiar red and yellow logo itself (Inez, Charlie, Ike, Tina, McGriff, Jacobs, Soul Sisters, Huey Smith etc etc) and a cover that (only slightly!) updates the design of the original vinyl “Sue Story” is sure to be enough ensure that this new compilation pleases absolutely everyone who admires the pioneering work of the UK’s first specialist record label of any real importance. If there’s ever to be a fifth volume, we promise that we won’t make you wait another 39 years for it.


1. Good Time Tonight - The Soul Sisters
2. A Fool In Love - Ike & Tina Turner
3. La De Da I Love You - Inez & Charlie Foxx
4. I Put A Spell On You - Screamin' Jay Hawkins
5. Down The Aisle - Patti Labelle And The Bluebelles
6. Rockin' Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu Part 1 - Huey Piano Smith And His Clowns
7. Odds And Ends - Jimmy Reed
8. Doodlin' - Baby Washington
9. Steal Your Heart Away - Bobby Parker
10. Lost In A Dream - Buster Brown
11. Pork Chops - The Dorsets
12. Lenny Goofed - The Naturals
13. Knocking At Your Door - Elmore James
14. Love Call - Gladys Knight And The Pips
15. So Far Away - Hank Jacobs
16. The Strength To Be Strong - Claudine Clark
17. Stepping Stone Aka You're Fooling Me - The Anglos
18. I Stand Accused - Jerry Butler
19. The Whip Aka Flea Pot - Alexander Jackson And The Turnkeys Aka Lala Wilson Band
20. Warm And Tender Love - Joe Haywood
21. Find Out What's Happening - The Spidells Featuring Billy Lockridge
22. Dance What You Wanna - Little Richard
23. I'm Dedicating My Life - Danny White
24. You Make Me Feel So Good - Tarheel Slim And Little Ann
25. Goin' Home - Rosco Gordon
26. Round Midnight - Jimmy McGriff


TurboBit | HitFile | DipFile

:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 1 | Views: 1068 |
    Related Releases:     
  • VA - The UK Sue Label Story Volume 3: The Soul Of Sue (2004)
  • VA - The UK Sue Label Story Volume 2: Sue’s Rock’n'Blues (2004)
  • VA - The UK Sue Label Story: The World Of Guy Stevens (2004)
  • VA - Capricorn Records Presents: The Fire/Fury Records Story (1993)
  • VA - The Ace Story Volume 1 [Remastered] (2010)

  • #1: Soulman902 (20 April 2018 04:52)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.07.2017
    Thanks for these Kent-Sue compilations in lossless smile

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?