Lossless music download

Dorothea Craxton - Handel: Nine German Arias; Gloria (2011)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 25-04-2018, 04:05
Dorothea Craxton - Handel: Nine German Arias; Gloria (2011)
Artist: Dorothea Craxton
Title Of Album: Handel: Nine German Arias; Gloria
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: Naxos
Country: Germany
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 65:52
Full Size: 307 MB


01. Kunft'ger Zeiten Eitler Kummer, HWV202
02. Das Zitternde Gl?nzen Der Spielenden Wellen, HWV203
03. Susser Blumen Ambraflocken, HWV204
04. Susse Stille, Sanfte Quelle, HWV205
05. Singe, Seele, Gott Zum Preise, HWV206
06. Meine Seele Hort Im Sehen, HWV207
07. Die Ihr Aus Dunklen Gr?ften, HWV208
08. In Den Angenehmen B?schen, HWV209
09. Flammende Rose, Zierde Der Erden, HWV210
10. Gloria in Excelsis Deo
11. Et in Terra Pax
12. Laudamus Te
13. Domine Deus
14. Qui Tollis
15. Quoniam Tu Solus Sanctus


Dorothea Craxton soprano
Fredrik From violin I
Hanna Ydmark violin II
Lars Baunkilde violone
Kjeld Lybecker Steffensen cello
Leif Meyer harpsichord and organ

This album of Handel vocal selections should delight the listener with its clear, bell-like soprano and its period orchestra, its Handelian melismas and reverential songs to God. Soprano Dorothea Craxton sings with such a beautiful, creamy sound and smooth technique that one does not hear her breaths. However, this album disappoints for the sole reason that the recording quality is off-balance, often relegating Craxton to sound like a member of the ensemble as opposed to soloist (or being overpowered by one of the ensemble). Sadly, this diminishes the listening experience, but there is still much to comment on positively. The album features two sets of songs, nine German arias and the Gloria. No. 3, "S??er Blumen Ambraflocken," shows Craxton's ability to shape phrases carefully, making the voice like an early violin with a minimum of vibrato and a smooth sound. "Et in terra pax" shows off a voice so even and consistent that it is almost unhuman in its perfection, accompanied by a slow and stately ensemble playing an accompaniment like a procession: it is absolutely soul-soothing music. Craxton's melismas are sung with great control in No. 6, "Meine Seele h?rt im Sehen," as one can hear in the words "alles jauchtet," whereas they sound slightly more choppy in No. 2, "Das zitternde Gl?zen der spielenden Wellen." The ensemble does indeed play beautifully, on every instrument, and some examples of its talents are the introduction with organ on No. 8, "In den angenehmen B?schen," the sweet gravity of the string interlude in No. 4, "S??e Stille," which does truly create a sense of Stille. They shine in the sprightly courtly dance rhythm of No. 5: "Singe, Seele, Gott zum Preise," and understand the music and what each piece, each mood requires. It is a musically keen orchestra, and it is a shame it is put to compete for attention with the soprano. One can only hope for the possibility of remastering the album so as to render the artists their due and proper balance. -- V. Vasan

Download Dorothea Craxton - Handel: Nine German Arias; Gloria (2011)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 562 |
    Related Releases:     
  • London Early Opera & Bridget Cunningham - Handel in Italy, Vol. 1 (2015)
  • The Avison Ensemble & Pavlo Beznosiuk - Handel: Concerti Grossi Op. 6 (2010 ...
  • VA - Telemann: Cantatas (2003)
  • Gloria in excelsis Deo: Bach's sacred cantatas (2017) [Blu-ray]
  • Russell Oberlin - Handel Arias (2007)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?