Lossless music download

Z.Z. Hill - The Brand New Z.Z. Hill (1971) [Remastered 2002]

Blues | Author: artmuss | 27-04-2018, 12:39
Z.Z. Hill - The Brand New Z.Z. Hill (1971) [Remastered 2002]Artist: Z.Z. Hill
Title Of Album: The Brand New Z.Z. Hill
Year Of Release: 1971/2002
Label: S.D.E.G Records
Country: United States
Genre: Modern Electric Blues, Blues Soul/Funk
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:12:51
Full Size: 449 mb

Sounding like the middle ground between Bobby "Blue" Bland and Otis Redding, Z.Z. Hill had only just begun to make an impression on the charts after a few singles for Kent and United Artists when his contract was sold and he found himself recording for Jerry "Swamp Dogg" Williams, a prospect he didn't especially appreciate. Under duress, in a mere three days, Hill cut the vocal tracks for an LP and a handful of singles, and that album, The Brand New Z.Z. Hill, proved to be one of the most ambitious projects of his career. A song cycle about Hill's romantic dilemmas with two different women, Brand New featured dialogue interludes along with ten songs, several of which were written by Williams with Gary Bonds (who was leaving the "U.S." out of his name at the time). Concept albums may have been all the rage in 1970, but as a narrative piece, Brand New leaves a certain amount to be desired, as the story doesn't flow very well and the dialogue sections distract more than they bring the listener in. But the material is strong -- especially "Faithful and True," "Chokin' Kind," and "Laughing Song (Ha Ha)" -- and Williams brought together a fine crew of Muscle Shoals session players who give these sessions an updated Stax Records feel that suits Hill's gritty but heartfelt vocal style beautifully. If Williams' more ambitious production notions don't quite click on The Brand New Z.Z. Hill, when it gets down to serving up some rough-and-ready Southern soul, this album delivers the goods, and it's a better fit (and more interesting) than the sound of Hill's best known work for Malaco in the '80s. Alive Naturalsound's 2013 reissue includes eight bonus tracks, taken from the singles Hill cut at the tail-end of the Brand New sessions, and if "Put a Little Love in Your Heart" was a bad match for the blues/soul icon, "Just as I Am" and "I Think I'd Do It" are just what the doctor ordered.


01. It Ain't No Use (Act I, Scene I ) (04:53)
02. Ha Ha (Laughing Song) (Act I, Scene II) (04:29)
03. Second Chance (Act II, Scene I) (04:52)
04. Our Love Is Getting Better (Act II, Scene II) (04:03)
05. Faithful And True (Act III, Finale) (03:17)
06. Choking Kind (03:08)
07. Hold Back (One Man At A Time) (03:05)
08. A Man Needs A Woman (A Woman Needs A Man) (03:16)
09. Early In The Morning (02:52)
10. I Think I'd Do It (02:14)
11. Suppertime (Home Just Ain't Home At) (04:15)
12. Just As I Am (03:42)
13. Touch Em' With Love (01:51)
14. Put A Little Love In Your Heart (02:31)
15. Just As I Am (Collectors Version) (03:41)
16. Faithful And True (Collectors Version) (05:34)
17. It's A Hang Up Baby (02:30)
18. Put A Llittle Love In Your Heart (Collectors Version) (02:56)
19. Hold Back (One Man At A Time) (Collectors Version) (03:18)
20. Early In The Morning (Collectors Version) (03:55)
21. I Think I'd Do It (Collectors Version) (02:29)


TurboBit | DipFile

:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 672 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Vince Hill - His Greatest Love Songs (The CBS Years) (2017)
  • Faith Hill - There You'll Be (2001)
  • VA - Blame It on the Dogg: The Swamp Dogg Anthology 1968–1978 (2008)
  • Z.Z. Hill – The Complete Hill Records Collection / United Artists Recordi ...
  • Z. Z. Hill - Down Home (1982)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?