Lossless music download

Cal Tjader - Verve Jazz Masters 39 (1994)

Jazz | Author: indeep1 | 8-05-2018, 00:42
Cal Tjader - Verve Jazz Masters 39 (1994)
Artist: Cal Tjader
Title Of Album:Verve Jazz Masters 39
Year Of Release: 1994
Label(Catalog#): Verve[314 521 858-2]
Genre: Jazz, Latin Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue,log,scans)
Time: 60:52
Full Size: 374 MB(+3%)


1. Soul Sauce (Guachi Guaro) [Aka Guachi Guaro]
2. Curacao
3. China Nights (Shina No Yoru)
4. The Whiffenpoof Song
5. Triste
6. Soul Bird (Tin Tin Deo) [Aka Tin Tin Deo]
7. The Way You Look Tonight
8. Daddy Wong Legs
9. Tokyo Blues
10. Cuchy Frito Man
11. The Prophet
12. Borneo
13. Leyte
14. Hip Vibrations
15. Cal's Bluedo
16. Moanin'

The best single-disc overview of Cal Tjader's Verve years, this collection actually makes the vibraphonist's time spent at the label seem more rewarding than it actually was. While with Fantasy Records, Tjader usually spent his time cutting tough Latin jazz albums or releasing superb small-group, bop-tinged cool jazz sessions. But under the guidance of Creed Taylor, most of Tjader's Verve sessions put a smooth gloss on his Latin style and almost completely ignored his very real talents for mainstream small-group jazz. That doesn't mean that his Verve years weren't full of excellent music, because they were; it's just that he recorded less group music for Verve, so it's great to see that so much fine music shows up here. Every track's a winner, but the CD features such highlights as Tjader's surprise pop hit "Soul Sauce," a beautiful ballad reading of "The Way You Look Tonight," the amazingly frenetic big band recording of the Horace Silver tune "Tokyo Blues," and a hip-shaking version of "Moanin'" that has Herbie Hancock and Ron Carter sitting in. Judging by this collection alone, you'd think Tjader's Verve period was the perfect marriage of high-quality jazz and mainstream commercial instincts. If only "selling out" always sounded this good. Maybe there's more to Cal Tjader's Verve sessions than there appeared to be at the time.~Nick Dedina

You Must Register Before You Can View This Hide Text For Download.

You Must Register Before You Can View This Hide Text For Download.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 691 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Cal Tjader - Soulful Vibes (2008)
  • Cal Tjader - Soul Burst (1966)
  • VA - The Collection - Verve Jazz Masters 60 (1996)
  • Cal Tjader - Cal Tjader Quartet (1956)
  • Cal Tjader - Soul Bird: Whiffenpoof (1965/2002)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?