Lossless music download

Bobby Freeman - Give My Heart A Break ~ The Complete King Recordings (2009)

Rock, Blues | Author: mixsan69 | 9-05-2018, 20:28
Bobby Freeman - Give My Heart A Break ~ The Complete King Recordings (2009)Artist: Bobby Freeman
Title Of Album: Give My Heart A Break ~ The Complete King Recordings
Year Of Release: 2009
Label (Catalog#): Ace [CDCHD 1232]
Country: UK
Genre: Soul, Doo Wop, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: FLAC (*tracks + .cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 00:49:24
Full Size: 239 Mb

It’s true to say that most of the major rock’n’roll and R&B names from the 1950s have had the majority of their work digitised by now – many of them several times over. It’s always nice, therefore, to be able to bring you something relatively unknown by someone who’s anything but. And this month it’s a real pleasure to premiere the complete King recordings of the Bay Area’s best loved R&B rocker, Mr “Do You Wanna Dance” himself, the one and only Bobby Freeman.
Bobby joined King in 1960 and stayed until 1961, recording a total of 18 sides under Syd Nathan’s personal supervision. For reasons best known to Syd, he issued only one 45 during that time – the Top 40 hit ‘(I Do The) Shimmy Shimmy’ – and left the other tracks in the can for some years. In fact, no further King material was issued until Bobby had signed to Autumn Records and had hits with ‘S-W-I-M’ and ‘C’mon And Swim’, at which point King issued two more 45s and a stupendously rare album called “The Lovable Style Of Bobby Freeman”. Neither the singles nor the album sold, leaving several more tracks unissued.
For some reason, the golden age of vinyl reissues left this material completely undisturbed. “Give My Heart A Break” marks the first occasion of its reissue (and, in several cases, its issue) in a package with appeal for all fans of Bobby’s early work, and of his Josie recordings in particular.
Recorded in King’s studios, with the accompaniment of the label’s exceptional house band, the tracks demonstrate every facet of Bobby’s talent. Many of the songs had been previously recorded by other King artists, but in the likes of ‘What Can I Do’, ‘Somebody, Somewhere (Hear My Plea)’, ‘Good, Good Lovin’’, ‘Please, Please, Please’ and ‘Fever’ our man proves himself to be more than a match for Donnie Elbert, James Brown and Little Willie John.


1. Please Stay By Me (2:37)
2. Good Good Lovin' (2:28)
3. What Can I Do (3:10)
4. (I Do The) Shimmy Shimmy (2:37)
5. Come To Me (3:12)
6. There's Gonna Be Change (2:18)
7. You Don't Understand Me (2:32)
8. Please, Please, Please (2:48)
9. Be My Little Chick-A-Dee (2:24)
10. Turn Around (2:57)
11. Please Give My Heart A Break (2:52)
12. Fever (3:09)
13. Miss You So (2:10)
14. Baby, Baby, Baby (What Would You Do) (2:09)
15. Bony Marone (3:38)
16. Love Struck (2:10)
17. Somebody, Somewhere (Hear My Plea) (3:29)
18. Goodnight, Sweetheart, Goodnight (2:44)

Password: mixsan

   Comments: 2 | Views: 1413 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Bobby Patterson - Soul Is My Music: The Best of Bobby Patterson [2CD] (2003 ...
  • Bobby Vinton - All-Time Greatest Hits (2003)
  • Little Willie John - Heaven All Around Me - The Later King Sessions 1961-19 ...
  • Lester Young & Nat King Cole - Lester Young & Nat King Cole Complete Record ...
  • Bobby Byrd - Bobby Byrd Got Soul (1995)

  • #1: angel44 (10 May 2018 09:12)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.04.2013
    #2: Soulman902 (11 May 2018 11:55)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.07.2017
    Thanks for this album in lossless smile

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?