Lossless music download

Mitchell And Ruff - Brazilian Trip / Campus Concert (2002)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 20-05-2018, 07:29
Mitchell And Ruff - Brazilian Trip / Campus Concert (2002)
Artist: Mitchell And Ruff
Title Of Album: Brazilian Trip / Campus Concert
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: Collectables
Country: USA
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (*tracks + .cue, log, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 76:12 min
Full Size: 373 MB


Brazilian Trip
01. Tanto Canto
02. Deixa Pra La
03. Nao Deixa
04. Chuva
05. Sonhando
06. Ah Voce
07. Nos
08. Companheiro
09. Sem Mais Chorar
10. Nada Mais

Campus Concert
11. They Can't Take That Away from Me
12. Red Sails in the Sunset
13. My Heart Stood Still
14. Little Girl Blue
15. I'll Take Romance
16. Body and Soul
17. 'Round Midnight
18. But Beautiful
19. Out of This World

Because so few of the recordings by the Mitchell-Ruff Duo have been reissued during the CD era, the reappearance of their recordings on various Collectables releases has been very welcome. Two separate LPs, recorded nearly a decade apart for Epic, make up this two-CD compilation. Brazilian Trip, though recorded in New York City in the summer of 1966, finds the American duo working with a rotating cast of young Brazilian musicians, playing ten sambas written by the visitors, only one of whom, drummer Chico Batera, was a full-time musician. Although these works never caught on in the U.S. compared to the incredible success of the recordings made by Antonio Carlos Jobim and Joao Gilberto, Mitchell and Ruff (the latter doubling on bass and French horn) gel very nicely with the Brazilians during this mostly low-key set. "Sem Mais Chorar" is a rare opportunity to hear Mitchell play solo piano. The original title of the other disc, Campus Concert, is rather misleading, as it actually consists of four separate studio recordings between May 22 and August 31, 1956. The influence of Oscar Peterson on Mitchell is apparent during the roller coaster interpretation of "They Can't Take That Away from Me," while the impressionistic take of the now out of favor "Red Sails in the Sunset" is simply breathtaking. Two tracks stand out during these sessions: a delicate but extensive exploration of "Little Girl Blue," and the richly textured "Body and Soul," with Ruff starting on his masterful French horn before switching to bass as the piece takes flight. Although they evidently haven't recorded together since 1983, every album that Dwike Mitchell and Willie Ruff have made in a group setting is worth acquiring; this compilation is a good starting point for anyone unfamiliar with their work. -- Ken Dryden

Download Mitchell And Ruff - Brazilian Trip / Campus Concert (2002)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 495 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Blue Mitchell - Blue's Blues (1990)
  • Blue Mitchell & Sonny Red - Baltimore 1966 (2016)
  • The DT's - Nice'N'Ruff (2006)
  • The Mitchell-Ruff Duo - Virtuoso Elelgance In Jazz (1991)
  • Oz Knozz - Ruff Mix (1975)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?