Lossless music download

Alan Pasqua - Twin Bill-Two Piano Music of Bill Evans (2012)

Jazz | Author: indeep1 | 27-05-2018, 00:30
Alan Pasqua - Twin Bill-Two Piano Music of Bill Evans (2012)
Artist: Alan Pasqua
Title Of Album: Twin Bill-Two Piano Music of Bill Evans
Year Of Release: 2012
Label(Catalog#): Challenge Records[CR73343]
Genre: Jazz, Contemporary Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue,log,scans)
Time: 61:11
Full Size: 198 MB(+3%)


01. Very Early (7:54)
02. Nardis (5:21)
03. Time Remembered (5:33)
04. Gloria's Step (6:54)
05. Turn Out the Stars (4:04)
06. Funkallero (5:19)
07. Take Me Out to the Ballgame (3:20)
08. Interplay (6:52)
09. Walkin' Up (4:51)
10. Vindarna Sucka Uti Skogarna (4:23)
11. Grace (6:40)

personnel :

Alan Pasqua - piano

Alan Pasqua has played in a variety of musical settings, including jazz, pop, soul, and movie soundtracks. Currently the Chairman of Jazz Studies at USC, he studied with noted composer George Russell and has worked with Tony Williams Lifetime, Paul Motian, Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Jazz Orchestra, James Moody, and others. Pasqua also spent time with Bob Dylan, Ray Charles, and Santana. For this tribute to Bill Evans, Pasqua recorded two separate piano lines via overdubbing, being careful to leave enough breathing room for the listener, while also trying to incorporate the spirit of Evans without sounding like a mere carbon copy. Six of the pieces are Evans' originals. He captures the wistful nature of the lovely ballad "Time Remembered" in an Impressionistic manner, with a sparse, deliberate arrangement. Evans tended to increase the tempo of "Very Early" as he aged, though Pasqua emphasizes its lyricism by playing it as an intimate jazz waltz. The pianist also captures the playful nature of the jaunty "Walkin' Up." Miles Davis' "Nardis" is forever associated with Evans, as he recorded it numerous times over a two-decade stretch. Pasqua's approach is less aggressive but still potent, though his unresolved ending is not as satisfying. "Take Me Out to the Ballgame" was never recorded by Evans, though Pasqua's witty, waltz-time arrangement shows the depth of his influence, while his haunting "Grace" could easily be considered a requiem for the jazz piano master, who died at the age of 51 in 1980.

You Must Register Before You Can View This Hide Text For Download.

You Must Register Before You Can View This Hide Text For Download.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 706 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Bill Evans - The Paris Concert: Edition One & Edition Two (Reissue 2001)
  • Bill Evans - Bill Evans's Finest Hour (1958-1970)
  • Bill Evans - Live In Paris, 1972 Vol. 1-3
  • Bill Evans - At The Montreux Jazz Festival (1968)
  • Alan Pasqua, Dave Holland, Jack DeJohnette, Michael Brecker - Milagro (1993 ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?