Lossless music download

The Lemonheads - Varshons (2009)

Alternative, Rock, Folk | Author: artmuss | 16-06-2018, 09:06
The Lemonheads - Varshons (2009)Artist: The Lemonheads
Title Of Album: Varshons
Year Of Release: 2009
Label (Catalog#): Breath Of Salt Water/Shock Records [CTX473CD]
Country: United States
Genre: Alternative Rock, Country Rock
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 33:18
Full Size: 231 mb

Inspirations rarely come more inspired than Gibby Haynes, the leader of the Butthole Surfers. For years, Gibby slipped Evan Dando mixtapes, and the Lemonheads leader pays tribute with Varshons, a covers album largely consisting of songs from those cassettes and produced by Haynes. At first glance this pairing might seem odd, but Gibby and Evan are both old hardcore punks with a taste for the strange. Evan may have crossed over more than Gibby, who made a career out of odd, but he never quite abandoned weirdness, with even Come on Feel the Lemonheads collapsing in the murk of "The Jello Fund." All the same, Varshons is easily the strangest Lemonheads record in maybe two decades and it's not so coincidentally one of their best, perched between the ragged, formless mess of their earliest records and Dando's enduring love for sweetly weathered country-rock. Gram Parsons, Evan's longtime idol, surfaces on Varshons, as does Townes Van Zandt, but a truer indication of the sun-warped spirit of the album lies in how the Lemonheads revamp Wire's "Fragile" into country-rock or how scum-rocker G.G. Allin's "Layin' Up with Linda" is given a murder ballad revision that resonates. But Varshons isn't all country -- there's a thick layer of Texas psychedelic haze, a rather ingenious take on Christina Aguilera's "Beautiful," a duet with Liv Tyler on Leonard Cohen's "Hey That's No Way to Say Goodbye," and, popping out of nowhere, a stiff new wave workout called "Dirty Robot" featuring Kate Moss on lead vocals. This sense of adventure ties Varshons to those earliest Lemonheads records, but the group marries that spirit to Dando's exceptionally intuitive interpretive skills, turning the album into a bit of a rough, unpolished gem.


1 I Just Can't Take It Anymore 3:01
2 Fragile 1:19
3 Layin' Up With Linda 2:17
4 Waiting Around To Die 2:22
5 The Green Fuz 2:51
6 Yesterlove 4:30
7 Dirty Robot [Featuring – Kate Moss] 3:29
8 Dandelion Seeds 3:31
9 New Mexico 3:40
10 Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye [Featuring – Liv Tyler] 3:04
11 Beautiful 3:45


TurboBit | HitFile

:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1343 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Mike Watt - Ball-Hog Or Tugboat? (1995) [2016] [HDTracks]
  • Evan Plommer - Albrecht Worl's Lute Book (2016)
  • Evan Marks - Three Day Weekend (1998)
  • Evan Parker and Ned Rothenberg - Monkey Puzzle (1997)
  • Breezewax & Evan Awake - Prima Vista (2012)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?