Lossless music download

Gentle Giant - Octopus [1972] (2015)

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Rock, Progressive Rock | Author: dust | 30-09-2018, 09:57
Gentle Giant - Octopus [1972] (2015)

Artist: Gentle Giant
Title Of Album: Octopus
Year Of Release: 1972/2015
Label: Alucard
Country: UK
Genre: Progressive rock,Symphonic rock
Quality: FLAC (*tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless [96kHz/24bit]
Time: 01:45:33
Full Size: 2Gb

Returning to Gentle Giant's fourth album after any kind of lengthy absence, it's astonishing just how little Octopus has dated. Often written off at the time as a pale reflection of the truly gargantuan steps being taken by the likes of Jethro Tull and Barclay James Harvest, the band's closest relatives in the tangled skein of period prog, Gentle Giant often seemed more notable for its album art than its music. Octopus, however, marries the two seamlessly, with the cover speaking for itself, of course. And the mood continues within, the deliciously convoluted opening "The Advent of Panurge" itself riding waves of sonic tentacles as Gary Green's guitar shrieks short but so effective bursts around the thundering bass and, occasionally, churchy organ. Against the pulsating volume of the album's heavier tracks -- "Panurge" is joined by "A Cry for Everyone" -- the band's excursions into less excitable territory are never less than captivating. Twiddly though they are, the sometimes a cappella "Knots," the lilting "Dog's Life," and the Yes-with-fiddles-ish "Raconteur Troubadour" all have moments of sublime sweetness, while the instrumental "The Boys in the Band" is a succession of quirky showcases for, indeed, all the boys. Occasionally arrangements do get overly cluttered -- with each of the six bandmembers doubling up on at least three different instruments, there's a distinct sense of overdubs for overdubbing's sake. Follow the key instruments alone, however, and the soundscapes not only make perfect sense, but so do the flourishes and intrusions that rattle around. And the end result is an album that has withstood the test of time a lot better than anyone might have expected

2015 Remix by Steven Wilson
1 The Advent of Panurge
2 Raconteur Troubadour
3 A Cry For Everyone
4 Knots
5 The Boys In The Band
6 Dog's Life
7 Think Of Me With Kindness
8 River
9 Excerpts From Octopus (Live 1976) [Bonus Track]

Instrumental Mix by Steven Wilson
10 A Cry For Everyone
11 Knots
12 Dog's Life
13 Think Of Me With Kindness
14 River

Original 1972 Album Mix
15 The Advent Of Panurge
16 Raconteur Troubadour
17 A Cry For Everyone
18 Knots
19 The Boys In The Band
20 Dog's Life
21 Think Of Me With Kindness
22 River

Gary Green - Electric guitars, maracas
Kerry Minnear - Piano, Hammond, Minimoog, electric piano, Mellotron, Clavinet, harpsichord, regal, vibraphone, tambourine, cello, lead vocals and backing vocals
Derek Shulman - Lead vocals, alto saxophone
Phil Shulman - Trumpet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, mellophone, lead vocals and backing vocals
Ray Shulman - Bass, violin, viola, electric violin, acoustic guitar, tambourine, backing vocals
John Weathers - Drums, bongos, varispeed cymbal, xylophone

Gentle Giant - Octopus [1972] (2015)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 877 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Gentle Giant - Totally Out Of The Woods The BBC Sessions (1970-75) (2000)
  • Gentle Giant - The Last Steps [Remaster 2002] (1996)
  • Gentle Giant - Octopus (1972) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2010] PS3 ISO + HD ...
  • Gentle Giant - Collection Four Paper Sleeve Albums 1970-1972 (Universal Mus ...
  • Gentle Giant - Дискография [Original Pre-Remaster] (1970-1980)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?